Drive-By Truckers March 26, 2008 Terminal 5 – Flac Download

March 27, 2008

[photo credit]

The Drive-By Truckers do not get cheated, and neither do their fans. The current tour in support of their new release Brighter Than Creation’s Dark has featured sets of two and a half hours, including 30 minute encore segments. When the set times were posted for the band at Terminal 5, they were given a 9 p.m. start to an 11 p.m. hard curfew. The band promptly took the stage at 8:55 p.m. and muscled their way through a non-stop 100-minute set heavy on new material (ten tracks from Brighter), but with representative songs throughout. When the band returned for the encore with 15 minutes left to curfew, they steamed through over 40 minutes of encore material, including Tom Petty and Jim Carroll covers, and left the crowd energized and satisfied with the full set promised by earlier stops on the tour.

This was our first visit to Terminal 5, the Bowery Presents venue that opened in October. While the cavernous nature of the concert hall is somewhat impersonal and creates a boomy sound, we generally had a positive experience in this venue. The head of security approached us near the end of the opening Whigs set and politely requested that we relocate our recording gear slightly back. We were happy to comply, given the courteous nature of their request, which was in complete contrast to the near-threatening heavy-handedness we experienced last year at Roseland.

As it turns out, the security supervisor was right — our placement for this set was excellent, as we were able to avoid the crush of the floor while remaining in front of the soundboard and dead center. We solved the boom and echo problem by pointing our hyper-cardioid microphones directly at the huge stacks. Despite complaints we have read about the sound at this concert, our recording is truly quite excellent and we are pleased to offer it at nyctaper. Enjoy!

The photograph posted above is part of an outstanding set produced by concert photographer Chris La Putt. The entire set can be seen [here]. Thank you to Chris for his permission to post this excellent photo.

Whigs were recorded and will be posted in the near future.

This recording is now available to download in FLAC or MP3 at [HERE].

Drive-By Truckers
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Front of Board Dead Center

Neumann KM-150’s > Monster Cable > Apogee Mini-Me > digital coax > M-Audio Microtrack 24/96 > 24bit 48kHz wav > Soundforge 8.0 (level adjustments, downsample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.75 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[total time 2:21:43]
01 The Righteous Path
02 Where the Devil Don’t Stay
03 That Man I Shot
04 Self Destructive Zones
05 Two Daughters and a Beautiful Wife
06 Daddy Needs a Drink
07 3 Dimes Down
08 Putting People on the Moon
09 Hell No, I Ain’t Happy
10 Checkout Time in Vegas
11 The Living Bubba
12 I’m Sorry Huston
13 Carl Perkins’ Cadillac
14 Sink Hole
15 A Ghost To Most
16 You and Your Crystal Meth
17 Goode’s Field Road
18 Women Without Whiskey
19 Let There Be Rock
20 [encore break]
21 Shut Up and Get on The Plane
22 Rebels (Tom Petty)
23 Zip City
24 18 Wheels of Love
25 Lookout Mountain
26 People Who Died (Jim Carroll)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Drive-By Truckers, visit their website, and purchase the new release Brighter Than Creation’s Dark from their site, and merch from their site.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to Drive-By Truckers March 26, 2008 Terminal 5 – Flac Download

  1. March 30, 2008 at 8:23 am

    You certainly caught the energy of the show. BTW the FLAC file names all have 2006 as the year of recording.

  2. March 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Heh. I guess my subconscious is trying to turn back the rapid hands of time.

  3. John from Garden City
    April 1, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Hey, the sound quality of this show is excellent. Also, if you want the hands of time to go backwards, pick a better year. 1979? 1985? 1992?

  4. Kevin
    April 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Nice recording of a great band. Thanks!!

  5. Todd
    April 4, 2008 at 1:52 am

    This sounds great. Thanks for taping and sharing.

  6. Bruce
    April 5, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    I have a few other recordings of this current tour and yours is the best I’ve heard. Thanks for sharing. Great show!

  7. Ivy Druguser
    July 5, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I don’t get it — is this available only as a FLAC download? I don’t see a link to DL MP3s as a zip file.

  8. July 5, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    This recording pre-dates the availability of mp3s on this site, so yes, its only available as flac. Email nyctaper for the direct download location of the flacs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.