Fiery Furnaces April 26, 2008 Southpaw – Flac and MP3 Downloads

April 27, 2008

[photo credit]

The Fiery Furnaces threw another curveball at Southpaw last night. The touring band has changed, the arrangements for the Widow City material have changed, and some fairly obscure older songs have returned to the repertoire. All of these new developments are welcome adjustments to Furnaces live act — as they continue to offer interesting and fresh approaches to their recorded material. Jason Lowenstein, who played guitar on the Bitter Tea tour and bass on the Widow City tour has been replaced by Kyle Hollingsworth — the multi-talented keyboardist of the now-defunct jamband String Cheese Incident. The move to a two-keyboard approach added interesting prog-like elements to the material, and opened a slot for Eleanor to return to guitar — an instrument that she has not played live in several years.

Although the multiple format and arrangement changes offer a challenge to the listener, upon listening back to this recording each makes abundant sense. Eleanor is clearly proficient at guitar and the many effects of Matt and Kyle add dimensions to these songs that we have not heard before. The result was a 90 minute set of intelligent and uniquely satisfying Fiery Furnaces live material.

This recording was captured from the identical location and equipment as the previous night’s Big Dipper set. The quality is superb. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Fiery Furnaces
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Dead Center
Front of Board — Front Railing at 30 Feet

Neumann KM-150’s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR cables > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, slight level boost, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced

[total time 1:25:27]
01 Single Again
02 Smelling Cigarettes
03 My Dog Was Lost But Now He’s Found
04 Whistle Rhapsody
05 Evergreen
06 Duplexes of the Dead
07 Automatic Husband
08 Ex-Guru
09 Navy Nurse
10 Pricked in the Heart
11 Up in the North
12 Straight Street
13 Japanese Slippers
14 Benton Harbor Blues
15 Philadelphia Grand Jury
16 Clear Signal From Cairo
17 Police Sweater Blood Vow**
18 South Is Only a Home
19 Oh Sweet Woods
20 Slavin’ Away
21 Chief Inspector Blancheflower
22 Rub-Alcohol Blues
23 In My Little Thatched Hut
24 I’m In No Mood to Comb My Hair
25 Teach Me Sweetheart
26 In My Little Thatched Hut
27 [encore break]
28 Right By Conquest

**Matt on vocals and Eleanor on drums, only one verse

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Fiery Furnaces, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from The Fiery Furnaces Store.

5 Responses to Fiery Furnaces April 26, 2008 Southpaw – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Val
    April 27, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Thanks for posting this. I was at the show last night and am happily downloading away now. And thanks very much for offering these as mp3s. My totally full hard drive thanks you!

  2. April 28, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I saw the mics at the show and thought it must have been you…thanks for recording and sharing!

  3. Fanny
    April 28, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I can’t thank enough for recording all those Fiery Furnaces shows! You’re like my hero!

  4. May 3, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Matt singing. Eleanor back on guitar.

    Criminey, it’s all kicking off.

    Did the mp3 thing – worked a treat, thanks.

  5. June 16, 2008 at 10:00 am

    A belated thank you (after a belated mp3 download) for another great – and different – FF show. Oh, and congrats for your recordings being used for the “Remember” live album!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.