Was (Not Was) May 1, 2008 Gramercy Theatre – Flac and MP3 Downloads

May 2, 2008

Was (Not Was) returned to NYC last night after an 18 year hiatus, during which time Don Was (Don Fagenson) became a prolific grammy-winning producer and award winning film/music director, while the other band members enjoyed similarly good fortune. Re-uniting for a tour in support of the new Was (Not Was) album Boo!, the touring band consists of original members the Was “brothers” Don and David, guitarist Randy Jacobs, keyboardist Jamie Muhoberac, and the three lead singers Sweet Pea Atkinson, Sir Harry Bowens, and Donald Ray Mitchell, along with a touring drummer and saxophonist.

Despite the break, Was (Not Was) performed a tight set of career-long material, including a terrific extended version of “Walk the Dinosaur” with excellent work by Randy, and the 4-song 80s-dance medley that culminated in the classic “Out Come the Freaks”. Sweet Pea was in excellent voice, and Sir Harry danced and shimmied throughout the set. Although we would have preferred David’s sardonic “Earth to Doris”, we settled for the less surreal although equally Waits-like “I Feel Better Than James Brown”.

We were pleased to read of Was (Not Was) taping policy in the weeks leading up to this show. We recorded from the “sweet spot” again at this venue — center floor about 30 feet back. The instrumental mix was excellent and the room features outstanding sound. We are pleased with the representation of this excellent band. Enjoy!

This recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Was (Not Was)
Blender Theatre at Gramercy
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded from Center of Floor
30 Feet from Stage

DPA 4021s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM Mod) > 16bit 44.1kHz wav > Soundforge (level adjustments, slight EQ, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries)> flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:18:30]
01 Hello Operator
02 Papa Was a Rolling Stone
03 I Blew Up the United States
04 Sunshine Superfly
05 I Blew Up the United States
06 [band introductions]
07 Where Did Your Heart Go
08 Your Luck Won’t Last
09 From the Head to the Heart
10 Semi Interesting Week
11 [band introductions]
12 Walk the Dinosaur
13 I Feel Better Than James Brown
14 Tell Me That I’m Dreaming
15 Robot Girl
16 Wheel Me Out
17 Out Come the Freaks
18 Crazy Water
19 11 MPH
20 Knocked Down Made Small

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Was (Not Was), visit their website, and purchase their new release Boo! from their website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.