Antietam May 31, 2008 Brooklyn Public Library – Flac and MP3 Downloads

June 18, 2008

[photo credit]

As we reported a couple of weeks ago, on May 31 Antietam played in a library with a special guest and a setlist organized by the Dewey Decimal System. Our intrepid nyctaper correspondent Neil d was there to witness the event and recorded it for the site. As we learned that night, due to thunderstorms the show was moved inside at the last moment, and the bands (Ladybug Transistor opened) performed in the Brooklyn Public Library‘s new auditorium.

The multi-generational and multi-ethnic crowd witnessed the “expanded five-piece Antietam,” with Josh Clark on second guitar and Ira Kaplan on keyboards. Guests also included Mark Howell on trumpet and Ladybug bassist Julia Rydholm on violin. The unique setlist idea featured a sketch pad mounted on the stage that included the name of each song, where to find its topic in the Dewey Decimal System, and a couple of Brooklyn neighborhoods for which each song was dedicated.

Neil recorded from upfront with a stereo Griffin I-Talk microphone into an I-Pod at lossless 16-bit. The quality of this recording is surprisingly good considering the basic nature of the equipment and the acoustics of a library auditorium not built for post-punk rock music. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

(with Ira Kaplan)
Brooklyn Public Library Auditorium
Brooklyn NY USA

Digital Master Recording

Griffin I-Talk Stereo Microphone > I-Pod > 16bit 44.1 kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, level adjustments) > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by neil d
with permission from Antietam (thanks Tara!)
Produced by nyctaper

[total time 1:31:30]
01 [introduction]
02 RPM
03 Time Creeps
04 Shipshape
05 Pennants and Flags
06 Turn It On Me
07 Miss Me Bliss
08 Needle and the Eye
09 1-2-1
10 The Moor
11 [instrumental]
12 Hasten
13 I Swear
14 Tranquility Base
15 The Gate Closed
16 New Parade
17 V.O.B.
18 That’s the Way It Is
20 You/I
21 Arrowhead Syrup

The nyctaper recording of Antietam in April at Southpaw is still available [HERE]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Antietam, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase the new release Opus Mixtum directly from the Carrot Top Records website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.