Ladybug Transistor June 14, 2008 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

June 16, 2008

[photo by soundbites blog]

On one of the busiest calendar days in the history of NYC live music, the closing night of the NYC Popfest at Music Hall of Williamsburg was understandably under capacity. Thematically, the attendance fit well with one of the most under-appreciated bands in music today. The Ladybug Transistor has released a series of excellent CDs over a 10 year career and yet their catalog has basically gone under the radar. Gary Olson crafts intelligent pop songs, and the live execution of the material is tight and focused. The band has performed infrequently this year, after an extensive tour in the Fall in support of the superb 2007 release Can’t Wait Another Day on Merge Records. The performance on Saturday night drew heavily from the Can’t Wait release, and the band’s relaxed energy and playfulness served the material well.

We are again indebted to our friends at Merge for the existence of this recording. Arrangements were made through Merge, and ultimately we received friendly emails with permission from Gary. This recording was captured from the prime location in this venue with our best mobile rig and we are very pleased with the results. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Ladybug Transistor
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from FOB
Dead Center 30 Feet from PA

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:05:53]
01 Lord, Don’t Pass Me By
02 Song For Ending
03 Like A Summer Rain
04 I’m Not Mad Enough
05 Nico Norte
06 Gospel
07 The Reclusive Hero
08 A Burial At Sea
09 NY-San Anton
10 In-Between
11 Terry
12 Three Days From Now
13 Always On The Telephone
14 Rushes Of Pure Spring
15 [encore break]
16 Please Don’t Be Long
17 Different Drummer

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Ladybug Transistor, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their CDs directly from their website or from the store at Merge Records.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.