Fiery Furnaces July 17, 2008 East River Park – Flac and MP3 Downloads

July 19, 2008

[photo courtesy of Dese’Rae L. Stage] [more of Dese’Rae’s excellent photos here]

If there’s anything predictable about The Fiery Furnaces, its their unpredictability. The touring band continues to morph and the arrangements of the songs continue to evolve. We knew this would be another interesting Furnaces show when the nearly eight-minute opening “Navy Nurse” began with two minutes of Eleanor’s new improv lyrics, followed by a brief Mozart interlude from Annabelle, before proceeding to the song proper.

Annabelle’s multitude of melodic percussion added a nice touch to the band’s sound, perhaps a bit more appropriate than the strong presence of Kyle Hollingsworth’s brief time with the Furnaces. The other band changes were the return of Michael Goodman on percussion and Jason Loewentein‘s absence (he’s literally on summer vacation). Additionally, Matt played guitar on about half the songs — the first time he’s played guitar live in several years.

The renovated East River Park Bandshell had a great atmosphere, with an LES vibe mixed with the river surroundings. The acoustics of the shell were quite good and the amphitheatre seating offered a fine view for all in attendance. We recorded from the front rail next to the soundboard and captured an excellent recording, compromised only by the hum of the generator during quiet moments. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Fiery Furnaces
East River Park Bandshell
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Dead Center
Front of Board — Front Railing at 50 Feet

Neumann KM-150s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR cables > Edirol UA-5 (Oade digimod) > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, slight level boost, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[total time 1:25:27]
01 Navy Nurse
02 Up in the North
03 Duplexes of the Dead
04 Automatic Husband
05 Ex-Guru
06 Single Again
07 I’m In No Mood to Comb My Hair
08 Evergreen
09 Japanese Slippers
10 I’m Waiting To Know You
11 Chris Michaels
12 Straight Street
13 Slavin’ Away
14 Philadelphia Grand Jury
15 Tropical Ice-land
16 Pricked in the Heart
17 Blueberry Boat
18 In My Little Thatched Hut
19 [encore break]
20 Benton Harbor Blues

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Fiery Furnaces, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from The Fiery Furnaces Store.

2 Responses to Fiery Furnaces July 17, 2008 East River Park – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Jethro Pugh
    July 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks, as always. Great show. Can’t wait to check out the recording.

    In the meantime, here is some video (try viewing with the high quality setting).

    Single Again –> I’m In No Mood

    Blueberry Boat –> Little Thatched Hut

    More to come…

  2. Fanny
    July 20, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am you recorded another Fiery Furnaces gig. Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.