Freedy Johnston June 15, 1997 Randall’s Island Fleadh – Flac and MP3 Downloads

July 25, 2008

As promised, in anticipation of Freedy Johnston‘s performance tomorrow night of his 1992 album Can You Fly, we offer a recording from the nyctaper archives. This performance by Freedy seems like ages ago, and yet it was only 11 years ago last month. The 1997 Guinness Fleadh on Randall’s Island was a two-day Festival with a roster of artists that was so impressive that even in the blistering heat and dust, the island was still sold out. Freedy Johnston was the headline act in the smallest tent, and he performed to an enthusiastic but thinning crowd, as some of the late Sunday afternoon crowd had already departed, and others moved to the stadium or main tent. Freedy’s set consisted primarily of material from the 1994 release This Perfect World and his then-new 1997 release Never Home.

The quality of this 1997 recording is not to the standard of 2007-08 nyctaper recordings. I recorded this set with core sound microphones and a D-7 portable DAT deck. The sound quality in the tent was not spectacular and there is several instances of the noise of crunching plastic as the late-afternoon tent had become littered by used beer cups. However, this is a recording of fine clarity, if a little lacking in the bottom end. Overall, considering the equipment and circumstances, its an excellent capture. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Freedy Johnston
Fleadh Festival
Randall’s Island
New York, NY USA

Audience Master Recording
Recorded 30 feet in front of left PA speaker
Core Sound Cardiods > Sony D-7 DAT
DAT Master > Panasonic SV-3800 > digital coaxial > Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > CD Wave (capture) 16 bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge 8.0 > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by danlynch in 1997
Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:05:23]
01 [introduction]
02 Caroline
03 Evie’s Tears
04 One More Thing To Break
05 I’m Not Hypnotized
06 The Lucky One
07 You Get Me Lost
08 Something’s Out There
09 Can’t Sink This Town
10 Disappointed Man
11 This Perfect World
12 Hotel 17
13 Delores
14 He Wasn’t Murdered
15 Two Lovers Stop
16 Bad Reputation
17 Wichita Lineman (Jimmy Webb)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Freedy Johnston, visit his website, and purchase his official releases from the store at his website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.