Yo La Tengo: December 27, 2008 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 28, 2008

[photo from Ira’s Hanukkah Diary]

At night seven of the Hanukkah celebration, Yo La Tengo displayed the most compelling characteristics of the band — their versatility and encyclopedic knowledge of popular music. As the band took the stage with an aggressive “Sugarcube”, the expectation was that the set would feature the rocking YLT. In a neat flip, the band followed the opener with 45 minutes of their most mellow music. The quiet set was accompanied by the outstanding contributions of David Mansfield on violin and pedal steel. As if a switch was hit, Yo La Tengo then completely changed gears for the second half of the set and raged through a noisy medley of their punk-tinged material, highlighted by a wild “Mushroom Cloud of Hiss”.

The encore set featured guest vocalist Willie Alexander, whose Boom Boom Band had opened the night. Following three thoroughly obscure garage rock numbers, the night closed with two familiar classics — the Boom Boom version of “You’ve Lost that Lovin’ Feeling” and a cringeworthy take on Lulu’s “To Sir With Love” with David Cross on vocals.

We recorded from the identical location as night two, and the quality is equally outstanding. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Yo La Tengo
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Audience Master Recording
Recorded from Front Corner of Sound Desk
Dead Center, approximately 30 feet from the PA

Neumann KM-150’s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR Cables > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (set fades, slight level adjustments, downsample) > CD Wave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:46:08]
01 Sugarcube
02 Let’s Be Still
03 She May Call You Up Tonight (Left Banke)
04 Cone Of Silence
05 One PM Again
06 Pablo And Andrea
07 Griselda (Peter Stampfel)
08 The Crying of Lot G
09 I Feel Like Going Home
10 Nowhere Near
11 Off and Running (Mindbenders)
12 Barnaby, Hardly Working
13 Big Day Coming
14 Watch Out For Me, Ronnie
15 Mushroom Cloud of Hiss
16 [encore break]
17 Long Gone (false start)
18 Long Gone (The Customs)
19 Walk Away, Rene (Left Banke)
20 Maybe More Than You (The Lost)
21 You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
22 To Sir, With Love

02-15, 19-20 with David Mansfield (violin, pedal steel guitar, electric/acoustic guitar)
19-21 with Willie Alexander vocals
22 with David Cross vocals

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the store at their website [HERE].

4 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 27, 2008 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Richard
    December 28, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    You are awesome. These are great recordings of YLT.

    Thank you again and again for making this available.

  2. John M
    January 1, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Thank you for another amazing recording.
    Happy New year nyctaper.

  3. Adam Thrasher
    January 9, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Ira Georgia Hanukkah Maxwell’s. It’s a tradition! Another excellent nyctaper recording – listening is like being at Maxwell’s except a lot more comfortable. Turn it up!

  4. LD
    September 28, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Huge thanks for sharing and posting this concert. Very grateful. How do they keep putting out such amazing music?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.