Annuals: January 28, 2009 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

January 31, 2009

[from Annuals MySpace – photo by Brian Vetter]

Annuals are on tour in support of their new CD Such Fun. On Wednesday at Bowery Ballroom, Annuals played an energetic eighty-minute set that drew equally from their two full-lengths and four EPs. The highlights included the new single “Confessor”, “Brother” and as the first encore “Carry Around”. While the band maintains a youthful and exuberant energy on stage, Adam Baker‘s lyrics exhibit a wisdom beyond his years. That kind of maturity has enabled Annuals to move beyond the blog-buzz and its inevitable backlash, and produce an excellent new CD and tour.

We recorded from our standard balcony location in this venue and the sound is excellent. The vocals were mixed too low for the first couple of songs, but the balance improved thereafter and ultimately we are pleased with the high quality of this recording. Enjoy!

Jessica Lea Mayfield and What Laura Says were also recorded and will be posted on nyctaper pending artist approval.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded from Balcony Rail
Next to Soundboard

Neumann KM-150’s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (set fades, slight level adjustments, downsample) > CD Wave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:20:45]
01 [drum intro]
02 Hot Night Hounds
03 Always Do
04 Confessor
05 Down The Mountain
06 Sway
07 Hardwood Floor
08 Fair
09 Complete or Completing
10 Chase You Off
11 Springtime
12 Around Your Neck
13 Sore
14 Brother
15 Wake
16 [encore break]
17 Carry Around
18 Hair Don’t Grow

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Annuals, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their new CD Such Fun from the links at their website and MySpace page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.