Jonathan Segel: January 11, 2009 Pianos – Flac and MP3 Download

January 20, 2009

[photo by Ian Weintraub from Jonathan Segel’s MySpace photos]

After his impressive multi-instrument performances with Camper Van Beethoven on Friday and Saturday, Jonathan Segel stepped forward and performed a set at Pianos last Sunday. Segel’s solo work features primarily his songwriting and outstanding guitar work. Although the Pianos set was limited by time constraints, there was certainly enough time for Segel to exhibit his guitar proficiency to the intimate yet enthusiastic crowd. The highlights included “Civil Disobedience” and the catchy “I Can’t Help It”.

We recorded this set from our standard location at Pianos. Although perhaps the drums were a bit too loud in the room, the clarity of this recording is quite excellent. Enjoy!

The Victor Krummenacher and Sharon Van Etten sets were also recorded and will be featured on nyctaper in the near future.

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Jonathan Segel
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Board
30 Feet from Stage

Neumann KM-150s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR cables > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, slight level boost, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[total time 34:15]
01 In Orebro
02 Angels
03 I Love You
04 Greedy
05 I Can’t Help It
06 Civil Disobedience
07 Enough Air

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Jonathan Segel, visit his website, visit his MySpace page, visit the Magnetic Motorworks site, and purchase his official releases directly from Magnetic Catalog and the Pitch-A-Tent Store [HERE].

4 Responses to Jonathan Segel: January 11, 2009 Pianos – Flac and MP3 Download

  1. glenn levine
    February 12, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I was at the Piano show and I’m very excited to hear it again.
    However, I am very computer/download challenged and my buddy Morst probably won’t be here until September to help me.
    If you send me your mailing address I’ll drop a check in the mail for $25..maybe then you could mail me a disk..It would be greatly appreciated..especially for “civil”.
    glenn [edit – phone number removed]

  2. February 12, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    glenn, I’m going to edit that public comment to take your phone number off of it.
    But seriously, there’s no fee for downloading the music on this site. Its illegal and immoral and a violation of the trust of these artists.
    What I can suggest is that you just click on the [HERE] for downloading mp3s and I’ll walk you through the conversion.

  3. glenn levine
    February 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    thank you..but it wasn’t meant as fee..just to help defray…i’ll give ‘here’ a go

  4. March 17, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    found this page in a google search. thanks for crediting me with the photo of Jonathan. great blog!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.