Iron and Wine: May 18, 2009 Abrons Arts Center – Review and Setlist

May 19, 2009

[photo courtesy of Philip Pissas – more here]

Today Iron and Wine release the new 2-CD/3-LP collection of rare tracks entitled Around the Well. Last night at Abrons Arts Center, Sam Beam performed a primarily solo set for the final show of the tour in support of the new release. In a classic old intimate theatre, Sam’s homey charm and realistic songwriting thoroughly entranced the small crowd of diehards. As setlist was comprised of requests/votes taken from fans via the Iron and Wine website, there were several moments during the set when the performer was unsure of a lyric or chord change. Rather than allowing these interludes to devolve into awkwardenss, Sam used the intimacy of the setting to show his humor and humanity. While virtually the entire set consisted of highlights, we were especially moved by the cover of the Flaming Lips “Waiting for Superman” and Sam’s own “Upward Over the Mountain”. Along with the rarities and treats, also performed was a new song called “Mary Anne”.

Iron and Wine perform an In-Store at Other Music Tonight.

Download a Recording soon of this show at Played Last Night.

Download a vintage Iron and Wine show from 2003 at nyctaper [here]

Last Night’s Setlist:
Iron and Wine
Abrons Arts Center
New York, NY USA

[Total Time 1:13]
01 [introduction]
02 History of Lovers
03 Woman King
04 Resurrection Fern
05 [banter – mangos]
06 Cinder And Smoke
07 God Made The Automobile
08 [banter – voting]
09 Waiting for Superman (Flaming Lips)
10 Upward Over The Mountain
11 [banter – Orson Welles]
12 Lion’s Mane
13 Gray Stables
14 Kingdom Of The Animals
15 Flightless Bird, American Mouth
16 In Your Own Time
17 Mary Anne [new song]
18 Fever Dream
19 A Boy With A Coin
20 The Trapeze Swinger
21 [encore break]
22 He Lays In The Reins

One Response to Iron and Wine: May 18, 2009 Abrons Arts Center – Review and Setlist

  1. May 19, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I think it’s incredibly cool that Sam Beam records all his shows then sells the live recordings, I wish more bands would follow suit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.