Thao With The Get Down Stay Down: May 14, 2009 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

May 26, 2009

[photo courtesy of Dese’Rae L. Stage]

Thao Nguyen With the Get Down Stay Down toured the US throughout much of April and May. The last few dates of the tour saw them come East and on May 14, 2009, Thao performed at the Bowery Ballroom. Two weeks on the Bowery show has become, in the band’s own opinion the show of the tour. In Thao’s blog, she attributes much of the energy that night to the crowd — and she is right. The Bowery that evening was filled to capacity with fans, some quiet and some quite rowdy, but all clearly into the show. The bawdiest group of about a dozen people, who can be heard on this recording, were actually singing along with every song. The band obviously fed off of this energy and approached each song with fervor. In particular, the festive singalong version of “Bag of Hammers” segued perfectly into “Beat”. Thao and the band also performed a couple of new songs for an album that will be released this Fall.

We recorded from our standard location in this venue, at the balcony rail next to the soundboard. This was our first outing with the R-44 and four-microphone rig in Bowery and we’re excited at the combination of the upgraded equipment and the always-superb sound quality in this venue. The depth of this recording is outstanding and while the active crowd can be heard, this adds authenticity to the listening experience. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete Show in FLAC [HERE].

Thao With The Get Down Stay Down
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Balcony Rail
Next to the Soundboard Booth

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) >2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 57:37]
01 Easy [new song – not included per band request]
02 What About
03 Geography
04 Bag of Hammers
05 Beat (Health, Life and Fire)
06 [banter]
07 Swimming Pools
08 Violet
09 Body
10 Goodbye, Good Luck
11 Big Kid Table
12 Travel
13 Moped
14 Fear and Convenience
15 [encore break]
16 Feet Asleep

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Thao With The Get Down Stay Down, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their outstanding release We Brave Bee Stings and All from the KillRockStars Records site [here].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.