Fiery Furnaces: June 11, 2009 Le Poisson Rouge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

June 12, 2009

[photo courtesy of Self-Titled Magazine – more here]

Its been almost a year since we last saw Fiery Furnaces live, at East River Park last July. In that time, the band has produced a new CD I’m Going Away, due to be released on July 1. At Le Poisson Rouge last night, the Furnaces performed “in the round”, or the center stage at LPR that permits the crowd to surround the performance area while the band can project in any direction — a set-up appropriate for this band.

The band consisted of the core touring band for the Furnaces, with Bob D’Amico on drums and Jason Loewenstein on bass, with Eleanor limited to vocals and Matt exclusively on guitar. It was strange to see the Furnaces without any keyboards on stage whatsoever (it was just 14 months ago at Southpaw when they were a two keyboard band!). As a guitar band, the quartet offered a straightforward rock version of the new I’m Going Away in its entirety, along with stripped down versions of nine other classics.

We recorded this set as a digital XLR plug-in to the state of the art multitrack digital soundboard at Le Poisson Rouge. We captured with the R-44 and the sound quality is superb, if a bit heavy on the vocals. Enjoy!

Exclusive: The next Fiery Furnaces concert in NYC will be the Williamsburg Waterfront Concerts on August 9.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Fiery Furnaces
Le Poisson Rouge
New York, NY USA

Multitrack Digital Stereo Soundboard
Master Recording

Multitrack Digital Soundboard > XLR Monster Cables > Edirol R-44 > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:28:48]
01 Here Comes the Summer
02 Leaky Tunnel
03 Chris Michaels
04 I’m Going Away
05 The End Is Near
06 Charmaine Champagne
07 Cut the Cake
08 Ray Bouvier
09 Staring at the Steeple
10 Even in the Rain
11 Keep Me in the Dark
12 Lost at Sea
13 Cups and Punches (Charmaine Champagne – alternate version)
14 Take Me Round Again
15 Drive To Dallas
16 Duplexes of the Dead
17 Automatic Husband
18 Ex-Guru
19 Worry Worry
20 Wolf Notes
21 [encore break]
22 Single Again

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Fiery Furnaces, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Thrill Jockey Records site.

8 Responses to Fiery Furnaces: June 11, 2009 Le Poisson Rouge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Richie
    June 13, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Thanks so much! Great recording. I love how they change around their live show all the time. New songs sounds like they’re in the ‘Gallowsbirds Bark’ mould.

  2. June 13, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Just to be clear, “Charmaine Champagne (alternate version)” is another song called “Cups and Punches.”

  3. June 13, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Thanks Matt, correction made.

  4. Fanny
    June 13, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I can’t thank you enough for this recording. The Fiery Furnaces are one of my favourite bands ever so I’m really looking forward to listening to the new songs. Merci!! :D

  5. stontt
    June 15, 2009 at 8:34 am

    thanks. sounds awesome.

  6. Shawn
    June 15, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Great show, can’t wait to hear the tape!

  7. Eleni
    June 15, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you SO much! I was at this show — this is a great treat to listen to now. It will hold me over until the new album. :)

  8. MattP
    June 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    THANKS NYCTAPER!!! can’t wait to hear this. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.