Emanuel and The Fear: September 4, 2009 Joe’s Pub: Flac and MP3 Downloads

September 11, 2009

[photo credit]

Last Friday night at Joe’s Pub was a coming out party of sorts for Emanuel and The Fear. The show was sold out to capacity (some were turned away at the door), there were some rock luminaries in attendance (David Byrne and members of TV On The Radio), and the band absolutely charmed the crowd with an outstanding hour long set. Emanuel and The Fear released an acclaimed debut EP this year, but we fully expect that the full-length album to be released in the coming months will propel this band to greater heights. Several of those new songs are featured on this recording. The Fear is a ten-piece “rock orchestra” of tremendous talent and musical instincts and they compliment Emanuel’s voice, guitar, piano, and stage presence to perfection.

We recorded this set from upstairs in the soundboard area, with two microphones attached to the railing and a 2-channel feed from the soundboard. The large number of instrument and voice microphones on the stage required that my board signal be split and the result is that the various sources are split between right and left channels. We suggest that listeners play this recording on speakers as its somewhat distracting to listen to this separation on headphones. With that caveat, enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Emanuel and the Fear
Joe’s Pub
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:02:59]
01 [introduction]
02 Guatemala
03 The Rain Becomes the Clouds
04 Dear Friend
05 [banter]
06 Free Life
07 [“Greek song” interlude]
08 Whatever You Do
09 Comfortable Prison
10 Simple Eyes
11 Song For a Girl
12 Balcony
13 [band introductions]
14 Want to Be
15 [encore break]
16 Jimme’s Song

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Emanuel and The Fear, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their debut EP from Paper Garden Records [HERE].

One Response to Emanuel and The Fear: September 4, 2009 Joe’s Pub: Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. joe
    February 24, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Very nice capture, thank you so much for all your efforts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.