Son Volt: September 17, 2009 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

September 18, 2009

Son Volt also played Washington DC on Tuesday
[photo by Steve from Baby Stew Blog]

Last night at Irving Plaza, Son Volt proved once again why they are the virtual mantle-carriers of the “no depression” movement of the 1990s. Fueled by the emergence of a superb new album American Central Dust, the band played an outstanding non-stop two-hour set which featured ten of the twelve tracks from the album along with material from the balance of their catalog (except no Straightaways material). The touring band features James Walbourne (Pernice Brothers, Pretenders) on guitar and pedal steel (he does not appear on the album), and his fervent guitar work provided multiple excellent solos during the evening. Of the new numbers, “Cocaine and Ashes” was a particularly strong performance, and along with the fan favorite “Windfall” and the old Waylon Jennings “Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way” were the highlights of the show. Despite his stoic stage reputation, Jay Farrar was engaging and talked to the crowd several times, including the dedication of “Big Sur” to ZZ Top.

We recorded this set with the four microphones from the middle of the floor in the sweet spot for sound in this venue. Other than some annoying chatter near the microphones, this is an outstanding capture. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Son Volt
Irving Plaza
New York, NY USA

Digital Audience Master Recording
Recorded from Center of the Floor

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:52:43]
01 The Picture
02 Feel Free
03 Underground Dream
04 Down to the Wire
05 Dust of Daylight
06 Highways and Cigarettes
07 Cocaine and Ashes
08 When the Wheels Don’t Move
09 Ten Second News
10 Dynamite
11 Pushed Too Far
12 Jukebox of Steel
13 [banter]
14 Big Sur
15 Methamphetamine
16 [band introductions]
17 Tear Stained Eye
18 Strength and Doubt
19 No Turning Back
20 Hard Times
21 Medication
22 Damn Shame
23 The Search
24 Buzz & Grind
25 Bandages & Scars
26 Afterglow 61
27 [encore break]
28 Action
29 Roll On
30 Windfall
31 Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way (Waylon Jennings)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Son Volt, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases directly from the Jay Farrar Official Store [HERE].

2 Responses to Son Volt: September 17, 2009 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. princetonreverb
    September 19, 2009 at 9:45 am

    That is Mark Spencer on Pedal Steel.

  2. September 19, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Yes, the excellent Mark Spencer played pedal steel throughout the show. However, James also played pedal steel on about a half dozen songs, along with guitar on the rest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.