Thee Oh Sees: October 8, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

October 9, 2009

[photo from Thee Oh Sees MySpace page]

Acidjack reports:
“San Francisco’s Thee Oh Sees are unmistakably Californian, with a fuzzed out garage/surf sound that gets the bodies moving and puts a smile on the faces of all. The band gave an energetic performance at Mercury Lounge to a packed crowd on Thursday night, showcasing some new material and a lot of the songs from their latest album Help in the process. Fans more familiar with bands like San Diego’s Wavves and Brooklyn’s Woods will find some similarities here — except these guys have been doing this (in some form or another) since 1997. Enjoy! Thanks to Thee Oh Sees for permitting this recording.”

Acidjack recorded from the standard location at this venue with his newly refurbished AKG’s and the sound quality is outstanding.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Thee Oh Sees
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY

An ACIDJACK master recording

Equipment: AKG ck91 carded capsules (Busman Active Mod)>custom battery box>R-09HR (24/44.1)
Position: Clamp with pole to right of SBD cage, approx 10′ up, DIN
Mastering: WAV>Audacity (set fades, downsample to 16bit, slight EQ, tracking)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Setlist (courtesy of John Dwyer)
1) Enemy Destruct
2) Block of Ice
3) I Was Denied (from forthcoming album Warm Slime)
4) Meat Step Lively
5) Ghost in the Trees
6) Blood in Your Ear (from Warm Slime)
7) Mega-Feast (from Warm Slime)
8 ) Tidal Wave
9) Poison Finger
10) Quadrospazzed/Warm Slime medley
11) [crowd]
12) Destroyed Fortress Reappears

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Thee Oh Sees, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their album Help from In The Red Records [HERE].

4 Responses to Thee Oh Sees: October 8, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Alex Mitchell
    October 13, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I came down from Canada to catch these shows, JD and crew absolutely KILLED.

    Thanks so much for posting,


  2. Choam Nomsky
    October 17, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    First track is definitely Enemy Destruct. Working on the rest.

  3. October 20, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Wow, what a great surprise to see a live Thee Oh Sees set! I was fortunate to catch them headline the vowel challenged SMMR BMMR concert at Rotture in Portland, OR. It was definitely one of the most amazing live experiences I’ve ever had. Chills went up and down my spine as Thee Oh Sees played a killer set of tunes from the last record “Help” and a few new ones from the yet to be released record on In the Red called Warm Slime. Please visit the following link to read my review of the SMMR BMMR Thee Oh Sees show.

    Here are the tracks that I know they played during this show at the Mercury Lounge:

    1) Enemy Destruct
    2) Block of Ice
    3) I Was Denied (From forthcoming album Warm Slime)
    4) Meat Step Lively
    5) Ghost in the Trees
    6) New Track (Most likely from Warm Slime)
    7) New Track (Most likely from Warm Slime)
    8) ?
    9) Poison Finger
    10)?? No idea, but this song is killer
    11)Crowd noise
    12)Destroyed Fortress Reappears

    Hope this helps, and thanks so much for this great recording.


  4. Choam Nomsky
    October 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Track 8 is ‘Tidal Wave’ (from the Woodsist 7″)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.