O’Death: December 12, 2009 Brooklyn Bowl – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 13, 2009

[photos courtesy of Maryanne Ventrice]

On a night of celebration, O’Death played an energetic and thoroughly entertaining set in what may be their last show for quite some time. Last night at Brooklyn Bowl, the band headlined a show that was both the holiday show for The Music Slut blog and a birthday celebration for TMS’s founder Jen. Apart from the surroundings, what made this show special was the extraordinary effort of one member of the band — a truly remarkable exercise in courage and fortitude. O’Death drummer Dave Rogers-Berry is fighting cancer and will be going through another series of procedures this coming week. If any of the fans attending the concert were unaware of this fact, the music coming from the stage would not have given them a clue. Dave played as he has always performed at O’Death shows, enthusiastic and indefatigable. In their fifty-minute set, the band split the setlist evenly among their two excellent full-lengths, Head Home and Broken Hymns, Limbs and Skin, and finished the set with a rousing “Allie Mae”.

We recorded this set with a four-channel mix of the soundboard and two microphones set back at the board cage. The room noise (bowling!) was not nearly as loud as the last time we visited this venue. Nevertheless, the mix is 70% board and 30% audience, and the potential delay or drift was remedied in post production with a time shift. The result in a superb capture of an outstanding concert. Enjoy!

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Brooklyn Bowl
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 49:37]
01 Underwater Nightmare
02 Adelita
03 On An Aching Sea
04 Only Daughter
05 Spider Home
06 Fire On Peshtigo
07 Mountain Shifts
08 Legs To Sin
09 Home
10 Lowtide
11 Down To Rest
12 A Light That Does Not Dim
13 [tuning – banter]
14 Allie Mae Reynolds

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT O’Death, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their latest CD from the Store at the O’Death website [HERE]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.