Ted Leo: December 6, 2009 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 10, 2009

[photo courtesy of Jeremy Arambulo]

Acidjack reports:
Ted Leo & the Pharmacists came out to play on a cold Sunday night, sort of for no reason. They aren’t on tour, and they don’t have a new album out (as they pointed out). Luckily, nobody told them this might not be a proposition for a packed house. In fact, Bowery was sold out and very, very full with the type of fans that make Sunday night shows among my favorites. Much like the Dirty Projectors’ Sunday night tour closer at Bowery that we featured on the site earlier this week, this show brought out fans who came to enjoy the music, knew the songs, and showed the band enthusiasm, friendliness and respect. Leo and the band returned the favor, giving an approximately 90 minute set (comprising, as you will see, a ton of songs, 23 to be exact) that never sagged. The band debuted a number of new (and “new new”) songs as well as older classics and covers. Leo proves that three-chord punk music doesn’t have to be stupid or lo-fi — his stage banter and lyrics are witty and intelligent, and his guitar tuning breaks (due to the last minute substitution of a finicky guitar) this night were frequent. Younger bands take note: Sometimes, giving something more than a sloppily-tuned 40 minute set – even when your songs are all in the 3-4 minute range – can be pretty cool.

I recorded this set from a pole clamped to the left side of the soundboard cage, with the mics about 8′ from the floor with the DPA 4021s. The sound quality is excellent.

Thanks to Ted Leo, Touch and Go Records, and the Bowery Ballroom for allowing the recording, and Kevin and the rest of the Bowery team for their assistance.”

We recorded Ted Leo almost exactly two years ago at Music Hall [here].

Download the MP3 and FLAC files and stream the entire show on the Live Music Archive [HERE]

Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

An ACIDJACK master recording

Recorded and produced by acidjack
Hosted at nyctaper.com

Equipment: DPA 4021>Marantz PMD 660 (Oade Concert Mod) (16/44.1kHz)
Position: Pole clamped to left side of SBD cage, 8′ total height, DIN
Mastering: 16/44.1kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, tracking, amplify each channel)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Heart Problems
02 Me and Mia
03 The One Who Got Us Out
04 tuning
05 The Mighty Sparrow
06 The Ballad of the Sin Father
07 Where Have All the Rude Boys Gone?
08 tuning
09 Even Heroes Have to Die
10 The Stick
11 I’m A Ghost
12 Army Bound
13 tuning/banter
14 One Polaroid A Day
15 The High Party
16 Parallel or Together?
17 tuning/banter
18 Counting Down the Hours
19 Where Was My Brain
20 tuning/banter
21 A Bottle of Buckie
22 Under the Hedge
23 tuning/crowd
24 Bottled and Corked
25 The Crane Takes Flight
26 Last Days
27 encore break
28 [unknown cover song]
29 Timorous Me
30 Biomusicology

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from their website [HERE] or from the Touch and Go Records website [HERE].

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to Ted Leo: December 6, 2009 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. john z
    December 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Both Teddy and NYC Taper have stepped up once again. Gotta love it!

  2. December 11, 2009 at 11:12 am

    The unknown cover is Samhain’s “Archangel”.

    As ever, many thanks for sharing this up.

  3. doug
    December 11, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Sweet! Thanks for putting this up.

    Timorous Me segued directly into Walking To Do, by the way.

  4. John
    December 11, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks so much. I’ve seen Ted Leo/Pharmacists, 6 times now, and i think this show may have been the best yet! Great new tunes.

    In the same vein as Doug’s comment, The Stick segued directly into Colleen.

  5. Ryan
    December 13, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Great set, what else can be expected from Ted? Thanks for sharing!

  6. December 14, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    What else from Ted…
    well, there’s going to be a Spring tour and a new album on Matador:

    April 9 in NYC at Irving.

  7. Josiah
    December 14, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    track 6 is actually called Mourning in America. it was on the Rapid Response EP

  8. Seth
    December 14, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Thank you. This is much appreciated.

  9. Nate
    December 15, 2009 at 9:23 am


  10. Evan
    December 15, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I love what you do, but why don’t you put song names in the files?

  11. December 15, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    etree naming standards!
    Some formats can not accept file names with certain symbols, multiple dashes or slashes. Its not all about the ipod, my friend.

  12. December 16, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Also, it’s quite easy to obtain a free program (such as xAct, for the Mac) to rename files to your liking. Different people have different opinions as to what’s best. Sometimes we do tag the FLAC files with the song names, but unfortunately, that tagging does not convert with MP3s.

  13. John
    February 8, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Thank you so much for this and everything else that you do here!

  14. Maria
    August 4, 2010 at 9:26 am

    so sad I missed this show :(

    I haven’t downloaded the files yet but I’m pretty sure track 6 is Ballad of a Sin Eater, not Sin Father.

  15. Maria
    August 4, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    okay my bad, hadn’t listened to it yet and clearly didn’t read the previous comments. never mind about 6. track 24 is Bottled in Cork, though!

    after listening I’m even more upset about missing this show, he NEVER plays Last Days when I see him. I would love to see them do that. thanks so much for posting this! it makes me almost able to forgive myself for not going.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.