So Cow: February 13, 2010 Monster Island Basement – Flac and MP3 Downloads

February 15, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

As the recording project of Galway County Ireland’s Brian Kelly, So Cow has produced a plethora of neat two-minute guitar punk-pop songs that have been compiled into two excellent albums. As a live band, So Cow is a guitar-bass-drums trio that emphasizes the punk element of the music with a clear focus on frenetic frontman Kelly. At Monster Island on Saturday night, So Cow distinguished themselves on the excellent five band bill with an energetic twelve-song twenty-nine minute set. The setlist was compiled from both l.p.’s, with an emphasis on 2009’s self-titled album. So Cow is in the early stages of a two-month US tour that will carry them across the country and back. I spoke to Kelly briefly after the show and he revealed that the band will return to NYC in early April for an as-yet unannounced Mercury Lounge show. We’ll be there.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones elevated at eight feet on the pole ten feet from the stage, and mixed it with a feed from the soundboard. The results are superb. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

So Cow
Monster Island Basement
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 29:03]
01 So Cow Vs. The Future [false start]
02 So Cow Vs. The Future
03 Greetings
04 Ping Pong Rock
05 Bat Toes
06 Dunno
07 Girl Racer
08 One Hundred Helens
09 High Standards
10 Runaway (Del Shannon)
11 Moon Guen Young
12 Ain’t No Fun
13 [banter]
14 Casablanca

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT So Cow, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their two LPs from Tic Tac Totally! Records [HERE] and [HERE].

One Response to So Cow: February 13, 2010 Monster Island Basement – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Enda
    February 17, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Just Dl’d this yesterday, love it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.