Rogue Wave: March 2, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac and MP3 Downloads

March 4, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

Rogue Wave released Permalight on Tuesday — their first album in two and half years. That night’s show at Music Hall took on a celebratory air, and the feeling was much deserved. Last year, Zach Rogue suffered through two debilitating slipped vertebrae, and that injury was just the latest of the calamities that have struck this band in its eight years of existence. Drummer Pat Spurgeon’s struggles with kidney disease were chronicled in the 2009 PBS documentary “D Tour“, and friend and former bassist Evan Farrell died in a house fire in 2007. Any band that prevails over that kind of tragedy could be excused for writing a “survival” record, but Permalight offers much more — its described as a “fun” record and perhaps the band’s most “danceable” release. On Tuesday the band showcased the new songs, opening the set with six consecutive numbers from the album. Earlier era Rogue Wave hits like “Harmonium” and “Lake Michigan” were reserved as set closers, but when the band returned for its final encore, the title track “Permalight” was chosen as the number where Zach invited much of the crowd to join him on stage. As the catchy new song was joined in by a chorus of many fans, the band’s smiles of joy and triumph were unmistakable.

I recorded this set from the front of the soundboard booth with the four microphone rig. The sound quality in the venue was outstanding and this recording reflects it. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Rogue Wave
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Soundboard Booth

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:26:29]
01 Stars and Stripes
02 Good Morning (The Future)
03 Per Anger
04 Solitary Gun
05 Sleepwalker
06 I’ll Never Leave You
07 Publish My Love
08 Like I Needed
09 We Will Make A Song Destroy
10 Bird On A Wire
11 Eyes
12 Love’s Lost Guarantee
13 Lake Michigan
14 Harmonium
15 [encore break]
16 Cheaper Than Therapy
17 Kicking The Heart Out
18 Medicine Ball
19 Permalight

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Rogue Wave, visit their website, and purchase their excellent new release Permalight from Brushfire Records [HERE].

2 Responses to Rogue Wave: March 2, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Allie
    March 5, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Was at the Bowery Ballroom show, but wish I could have gone to this one, too. Thanks for making that almost possible!

  2. Jenny
    July 4, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    I wish there was more Rogue Wave on here. I love their music and can’t get enough of their new album!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.