Gary Louris: May 1, 2010 Truck America Festival – Flac and MP3 Downloads

May 11, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

The last time I saw Gary Louris perform on stage, it was an off-night of a long Jayhawks tour for the criminal under-appreciated Sound of Lies (circa ’97-’98) at a semi-secret show at Mercury Lounge. At close range, one of the 90’s most influential alt-country bands (even after the exit of Mark Olson) were a pleasure to behold and that Mercury gig is a great memory. Although several members still occasionally play together, the slow demise of the Jayhawks was one of the more sad turns of the early 00’s. So it was with great joy that we read of the new plans for a 2010 reunion in Minneapolis, with plans to play some East coast shows including NYC later in the year. At the Truck America Festival last weekend, Gary Louris played a set of his solo and Jayhawks material, and provided an excellent preview of this much anticipated reunion. Gary’s unique baritone has not worn with age, and his guitar work is as melodic as ever. To close the set, Gary was joined by the “barn band”, which included the Bennett brothers, Tim Easton and Cat Martino. The group performed three numbers, including “best of” Jayhawks classics “I’d Run Away” and “Blue”, and if fan pages are to be believed, the finale brought tears to the eyes of Jayhawks devotees.

Gary Louris plays NYC this coming Friday May 14 at Le Poisson Rouge, tickets are still available here.

We recorded this set with the same equipment and location as the Mercury Rev set and the sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Gary Louris
Truck America Festival
Big Indian, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 56:43]
01 [introduction]
02 Angelyne
03 D.C. Blues
04 Tailspin
05 Everybody Knows
06 Listen Joe
07 Settled Down Like Rain
08 I Need You Tonight [new song]
09 Poor Little Fish
10 Save It For A Rainy Day
11 She Only Calls Me On Sundays
12 Waiting For The Sun
13 All the Right Reasons
14 I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
15 I’d Run Away
16 Blue

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Gary Louris, visit his facebook page (most updated info), visit his website, and purchase his official releases from the Store at his website [here].

8 Responses to Gary Louris: May 1, 2010 Truck America Festival – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Hemisphire
    May 12, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Thanks for this – I’m going to see him Sunday and want to hear the new song first.

    Also FYI for all old school Jayhawks fans, The Bunkhouse CD will finally be released next Tuesday:

  2. blureu
    May 12, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Thank You NYC Taper!!!

  3. gd
    May 13, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Excellent!!! Thank you…

  4. Tracy
    May 13, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Watched him rehearsing in the small barn before the actual show under the bigtop tent at Truck. The scheduled show was amazing, but that rehearsal alone would have been worth the price of admission. (Speaking of which, tell all your friends and music-obsessed neighbors to get their arses to the Truck Festival next time it rolls into upstate New York…)

  5. May 17, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    This recording sounds excellent! Thanks so much for sharing… I was there and it was a great show and day…

  6. May 24, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    excellent recording! loving it!

  7. May 25, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Hey Gary!!!

    Sounding great man – Keep It Hot!!!


  8. grifftrain
    November 17, 2012 at 11:02 am

    In a word…Sweet!.. Thanks for putting this on here. i love The jayhawks in any size shape or form.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.