Drivin’ N Cryin’: November 6, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

November 11, 2010

[photo by Johnny]

Before there was Drive-By Truckers, there was Drivin’ N Cryin’ — unabashed country rock with identifiable punk influences. When Kevin Kinney left his punk band in Milwaukee and moved to Atlanta in the mid-80s, he and Tim Nielsen would ultimately go on to establish a group that melded divergent genres to create a sound that would influence a generation of southern rockers. Now celebrating their 25th year as a band, Drivin’ N Cryin’ continues to make excellent music and still wears its punk pedigree on its sleeve. 2009’s Great American Bubble Factory contains everything from country-tinged working class odes to a cover of The Dictators. The album opens with “Detroit City”, a live show-stopper that references Iggy and the Stooges and MC5, and closes with “This Town”, a poignant Guthrie/Dylan styled folk number. On Saturday night at Mercury Lounge, both songs were performed in key spots in the setlist, along with nearly two hours of the best of the band’s extensive catalog. Other highlights included a huge “Fly Me Courageous” (streaming below) and the show-closing epic twelve-minute “Straight to Hell”.

Kevin Kinney will perform a series of solo shows at The Living Room for three consecutive Tuesday nights in December.

I recorded this set from my standard location in this venue, at the front right corner of the soundboard. I utilized the DPA microphones and mixed them with a feed from the soundboard. The sound quality of this recording is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream “Fly Me Courageous”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Drivin’ N Cryin’
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:49:04]
01 [introduction]
02 Honeysuckle Blue
03 (Whatever Happened to The) Great American Bubble Factory?
04 Scarred But Smarter
05 Preapproved, Predenied
06 The Innocent
07 Build A Fire
08 I Stand Tall (The Dictators)
09 [banter]
10 Midwestern Blues
11 Peacemaker
12 [banter]
13 Back Roads And Rainy Days
14 With The People
15 Let’s Go Dancing
16 Detroit City
17 Fly Me Courageous*
18 [crowd/banter]
19 Blues on Top of Blues
20 [encore break]
21 This Town
22 Which Jesus
23 Straight to Hell**
24 [outro]
*with a verse of Smoke On The Water
**with a verse of Why Don’t We Do It In The Road

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Drivin’ N Cryin’, visit their website, and purchase their official releases at the Store on their website [HERE].

One Response to Drivin’ N Cryin’: November 6, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Johnny Fried Chicken Boy
    November 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    What an amazing show! Superb recording, too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.