The Hold Steady: January 31, 2011 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

February 3, 2011

[The Hold Steady at Music Hall on January 30. Photos courtesy of Joshua Sarner and Prefix Magazine]

Eight years ago to the day, The Hold Steady took the stage at Music Hall of Williamsburg – then a much-less-luxurious venue called Northsix in a similarly less luxurious (or luxury-condo-fied) Williamsburg – for their first gig. To hear Craig Finn tell it, that the band celebrated their eighth anniversary in the same spot was a happy coincidence. Whether by coincidence or calculation, I suspect that first Music Hall show had a good bit in common with this one. “What’s up, Brooklyn? We’re The Hold Steady, and we’re gonna have a really good time tonight!” was Finn’s opening proclamation, and I would bet his first opening ever was much the same. Because, although their songwriting has grown more expansive, along with their critical acclaim and the size of their fanbase, The Hold Steady has always been one of the world’s greatest bar bands. The band’s appeal is democratic and uncomplicated: penetrating lyrics you can understand (that are also good enough to wow rock critics); crowd-participating, fist-pumping anthems; outstanding musicianship; and a frontman in Finn who appears to be having the best time of anybody there. This second show of two nights at Music Hall was all about momentum. Breaks between songs were almost non-existent; ditto crowd banter. Finn & Co. worked so hard through this nearly 100-minute set, it could have been a Springsteen show. In terms of the setlist, the band’s latest, Heaven Is Whenever, was well-represented along with Stay Positive, but so was the band’s first record, the less-noticed Frenchkiss Records release, Almost Killed Me, including on a beautifully paced encore that began with the pensive “Positive Jam”, followed by “Southtown Girls” (from Boys and Girls in America) and concluding with an extended version of “Most People Are DJs”. Although it was a Monday night, the crowd was fired up and slam dancing, about as sweaty as Finn himself. I would like to think that whoever attended that first Hold Steady gig would have done the same. If not, they should have: The Hold Steady are a hard-working rock band that is damned hard to deny. Show me someone else who can put on this kind of show – and get this kind of response – on a Monday, and I’ll show you rock royalty.

I recorded this set from about halfway to the stage from the left balcony. The mics were aimed directly at the left stack to maximize direct sound, and the results speak for themselves. Check out the streaming songs below, and enjoy!

Stream “Stevie Nix”:
[audio: Stevie Nix.mp3]

Stream “Positive Jam”:
[audio: Positive Jam.mp3]

Direct download of MP3 files [HERE]

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Hold Steady
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

An acidjack master recording
Recorded and produced by acidjack for

Equipment: Microtech-Gefell MG210>Naiant littlebox>Sony PCM-M10 (24/44.1)
Position: Left balcony, pointed at left stack
Mastering: 24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, tracking, flac)

Tracks [Total Time 1:35:17]
01 Intro
02 Ask Her For Adderall
03 The Swish
04 Magazines
05 Rock Problems
06 Hurricane J
07 Cattle and the Creeping Things
08 Barfruit Blues
09 The Sweet Part of the City
10 Same Kooks
11 Sequestered in Memphis
12 Barely Breathing
13 Lord, I’m Discouraged
14 Constructive Summer
15 Chips Ahoy!
16 Stuck Between Stations
17 Stevie Nix
18 First Night
19 Ascension Blues
20 Slapped Actress
21 [encore break]
22 Positive Jam
23 Southtown Girls
24 Most People Are DJs

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Hold Steady, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the links at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to The Hold Steady: January 31, 2011 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. lax
    February 3, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Awesome. Thanks for this.

  2. V
    February 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Superb job! Thanks. Who needs keyboards? Heaven.

  3. Dave
    April 16, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I was at this show, and many others that you’ve recorded, and these are the ultimate gifts to true fans! After the ears stop ringing, and the bruises fade away, I can always relive the night! Thank you!

  4. Holgi
    May 24, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Thanx a lot :)

  5. Dave
    February 22, 2016 at 10:31 am

    Thanks so much for offering these live shows. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.