Nicole Atkins: March 11, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

March 13, 2011

[photo by nyctaper]

On the final night of her current tour, Nicole Atkins came home to a sold out Maxwell’s on Friday night. The tour in support of the heralded new album Mondo Amore (Razor & Tie) began at Bowery Ballroom more than a month ago and swung cross-country before its triumphant return. The band at Maxwell’s was the core group — not the orchestra-sized outfit at Bowery — and the set’s full throttle energy reflected it. From the opening notes of “Heavy Boots” the band was tight and focused and nicely complimented the main instrument — Nicole’s powerful voice. And she was in fine voice all evening in all modes, whether folk (“Monterey Honey”), ballad (“Hotel Plaster”), honky tonk (“Cry Cry Cry”) or a classic soul cover (“See And Don’t See”, streaming below). Nicole will play several SXSW shows before returning to dates in the Spring, which include Bonnaroo Festival and several dates with the Avett Brothers.

I recorded this set from our usual location and setup in this venue and the sound is outstanding. Nicole’s sound engineer Jeff mixed her vocals prominently and to perfection and the result is a recording that truly reflects of the strengths of this artist. Enjoy!

Stream “See And Don’t See”:

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Nicole Atkins
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Four Channel Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:16:18]
01 Heavy Boots
02 Maybe Tonight
03 This Is For Love
04 You Come To Me
05 [banter]
06 Party’s Over
07 [band introductions]
08 Cry Cry Cry
09 Vitamin C [Can]
10 [banter2]
11 The Way It Is
12 Brooklyn’s On Fire
13 [banter3]
14 Hotel Plaster
15 [banter4]
16 Monterey Honey
17 My Baby Don’t Lie
18 Vultures
19 [banter5]
20 War Is Hell
21 The Tower
22 [encore break]
23 See and Don’t See [Marie Queenie Lyons]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Nicole Atkins, visit her website, and purchase her new album Mondo Amore from her website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.