The Antlers: May 6, 2011 Knitting Factory – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

May 8, 2011

[photos by Amanda Hatfield]

On Friday night, The Antlers played a surprise midnight show at Knitting Factory. The show was a brooklynvegan-presented impromptu CD release show for Burst Apart (Frenchkiss), which will be released on Tuesday. The Antlers treated their fans who missed SXSW to a encore of the show they presented in March — Burst Apart from start to finish. The Brooklyn crowd also got a very special bonus in superb renditions of two Hospice songs as encores, including a powerful “Wake” set closer. But the real focus of this evening was the new material. Burst Apart is perhaps the best album you will purchase this year. The album’s production is flawless and the strength of the songs are apparent from start to finish. From the opening “I Don’t Want Love” through standout tracks (and future singles) “French Exit”, “No Widows” and “Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out”, the album reaches its climax with the future song of the year, the hopeful-but-guarded “Putting the Dog to Sleep”. The live version of “Dog” (streaming below) is an affirmation and was a exclamation point for this incredible evening, as the band extended the closing section to a powerful finish.

Burst Apart can still be pre-ordered online and the special packages offer bonuses [HERE].

I recorded this set with the warmer DPA microphones set up at the soundboard area and mixed them with an excellent feed from the board. The Antlers FOH Dan did an excellent job on the mix this evening and the result is a recording with superb sound quality. Enjoy!

Stream “Putting the Dog to Sleep”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The Antlers
The Knitting Factory
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:15:57]
01 I Don’t Want Love
02 French Exit
03 Parentheses
04 No Widows
05 [banter]
06 Rolled Together
07 Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out
08 [banter2]
09 Hounds
10 Corsicana
11 Putting the Dog to Sleep
12 [encore break]
13 Two
14 Wake

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Antlers, visit their website, and pre-order Burst Apart from their site [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to The Antlers: May 6, 2011 Knitting Factory – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Fatzers
    May 8, 2011 at 11:20 am

    thanks for sharing this, every single one of the new songs is huge and sxsw performance was amazing, so far this year only pj harvey’s album is as strong imo

  2. Trang Nguyen
    May 12, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I’m sad I haven’t been able to catch them live! Going to catch this live-recording right now, they are so great!

    Also going to check out your other stuff because I will die over James Blake (so smooth).

    Found some free MP3s for Man Man and The Antlers at, I hope that helps some other people out.

    Thanks for this!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.