Yo La Tengo: May 10, 2011 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

May 13, 2011

[photo by Chris Gersbeck at Fxxking Nostalgic]

We’ve seen Yo La Tengo countless times over the last several years, but their two shows this week were new to us. The “Wheel Spin” shows have been performed outside the NYC area, but Tuesday’s show at Bell House was the first time that this set structure was played here. The band took the stage to the theme music from Wheel of Fortune, and Ira brought out the spinning wheel, called a fan up on stage, and the “Name Game” was the winner — i.e., the first set contained only songs with names in them. The quiet “Griselda” opened the set, but it was the weird “Georgia vs. Yo La Tengo” that foreshadowed the strangeness to come. The band pivoted from quiet to noisy songs on a dime, and the set ended with a trio of songs played with such ferocity that long-time fans were shaking their heads. The highlight of the set and perhaps the evening was “Pass The Hatchet” (streaming below) which featured fourteen solid minutes of Ira shredding through 3 guitars, writhing on the floor and throwing himself into his guitar amp. This version surpassed even the phenomenal one we saw in March at Maxwell’s. After a break, YLT returned for another set, this time an hour of their non-themed music. Again segueing effortlessly from mellow to metal, folk to punk, the set’s highlights included “Barnaby” with Antietam’s Tara Key, a sweet rendition of James’s “Stockholm Syndrome” and the raging “I Heard You Looking” finale. Yo La Tengo plays a festival in Ohio this weekend, before heading over seas for two weeks of shows in Ireland, Scotland and England.

We recorded this set with the Neumanns clamped to the front of the soundboard booth and raised to 10 feet, and mixed it with a feed from the soundboard. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Acidjack recorded the second night of YLT at Bell House (May 11) and it will be posted tomorrow.

Stream “Pass The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Yo La Tengo
The Bell House
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by nyctaper, acidjack and hi and lo
Produced by nyctaper

Set 1
[Total Time 56:39]
01 [spin the wheel]
02 Griselda
03 Georgia vs Yo La Tengo
04 Song For Mahlia
05 Moby Octopad
06 Avalon or Someone Very Similar
07 Let’s Save Tony Orlando’s House
08 Watch Out For Me, Ronnie
09 The Evil That Men Do
10 Pass The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind

Set 2
[Total Time 1:09:12]
11 Our Way To Fall
12 Barnaby, Hardly Working
13 Demons
14 Stockholm Syndrome
15 The Crying of Lot G
16 [banter]
17 Double Dare
18 Nothing To Hide
19 Decora
20 I Heard You Looking
21 [encore break]
22 The Door Into Summer [Monkees]
23 Drug Test
24 For The Turnstiles [Neil Young]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to Yo La Tengo: May 10, 2011 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Smintjes
    May 13, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Whoah, thank you thank you thank you! My absolute favourite band.

  2. ayyy
    May 13, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    it seems like mp3 link has some trouble downloading for some reasons… I tried downloading several times but it always stopped when it came to 122MB.

  3. ayyy
    May 13, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    sorry it looks alright now…

  4. Will
    May 14, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Thank you! You provide a great service for Yo La Tengo fans on your site!

  5. j b
    May 14, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Great band and thanks for the tracks.

  6. neil d
    May 14, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    A great show – the acoustic “For The Turnstiles” with Georgia’s harmonies, in particular, was an incredible show closer. So glad you were there to record it.

    Will Antietam’s excellent opening set be showing up as well, do you know?

  7. May 14, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    What a great spin that dude (me) made.



  8. zach
    May 15, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    the 2nd night was even better
    anyone have the setlist?

  9. acidjack
    May 15, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    yes, you can see it in the post of that recording that is up now on the site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.