North Mississippi Allstars Duo: June 6, 2011 (Late Show) Iridium Jazz Club – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

June 8, 2011

[photo by Botellita de Cielo]

Les Paul passed away two summers ago at the age of 94, leaving behind a legacy of instrumental and stylistic invention unmatched by any person in modern music. As a continuing tribute to the man, his trio performs every Monday night at the Iridium Jazz Club with a regular rotation of distinguished guests from the worlds of blues, jazz and rock — all of whom cite Les as a continuing inspiration. On Monday night, blues-rock masters the North Mississippi Allstars performed two sets. We caught the late show, which began with a short set by the Trio. Luther and Cody Dickinson joined for the last two trio songs before launching into their own powerful set. While not the two-hours-plus we’ve seen in the last two years (here) and (here), the set contained several sweet moments, including a segue of “Po Maddie” and “Skinny Woman” that allowed Luther to stretch out and show his chops in the home of the late master. The band was also joined by Hook Herrera on blues harp for the classic “Rollin’ and Tumblin'”, a powerful version that we’re streaming below.

I recorded this set with the four microphone rig set up at the railing of the raised seated area exactly 24 feet from the stage. There is some crowd chatter from the small room, but otherwise the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Rollin’ and Tumblin”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This show is now available as a direct download in FLAC and MP3 formats at [HERE].

North Mississippi Allstars
Late Show
Iridium Jazz Club
New York NY

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded at Railing of Elevated Seating Area

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:13:41]
01 [introduction]
02 [Instrumental 1]
03 [Instrumental 2]
04 Jellyrollin All Over Heaven
05 Shake Em On Down
06 Po Black Maddie – Skinny Woman
07 Shake What Your Mama Gave You
08 [banter tuning]
09 Goin’ Home
10 Going Home South
11 Psychedelic Sex Machine
12 All Night Long
13 Rollin And Tumblin
14 Mean Ol’ Wind Died Down

Track 1-3 and 12-13 with members of Les Paul Trio
Track 13 with Hook Herrera On Harmonica

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT North Mississippi Allstars, visit their website, and purchase their available releases through The Store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to North Mississippi Allstars Duo: June 6, 2011 (Late Show) Iridium Jazz Club – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Eric B
    June 9, 2011 at 10:14 am

    NMAS is ALWAYS appreciated, I can’t wait to give this a listen…thanks!

  2. August 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Wow, thanks so much for this…haven’t been able to see these guys locally in DC for awhile now…truly one of the greatest guitarists out there is Mr. Luther Dickinson, and his bro ain’t too damn shabby neither.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.