The Coathangers: June 24, 2011 285 Kent – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

July 12, 2011

[photo courtesy of Edwina Hay]

If there’s a really an identifiable punk/garage “ethic”, the Coathangers do it right. The band plays their instruments with abandon, writes songs that tell it straight, and at their wild live shows, they don’t hold anything back or pull any punches. At their most recent NYC show a couple of weeks back at DIY venue 285 Kent, the Coathangers played a beyond-punk-length set that was extraordinarily entertaining for all the right reasons. Their energy, sense of humor, and apparent disregard for convention was evident from the outset — “Johnny” is a screaming punk song that set the tone that continued throughout songs like “Gettin Mad and Pumpin Iron”, “Nestle in My Boobies” and early 7″ release “Shake Shake” (streaming below). In between, the band performed much of their brand new release Larceny & Old Lace (Suicide Squeeze). As they were faced with an opening set deadline, the band continued to play through house music and ultimately when the microphone power was cut, performed the last song completely off-mic. It didn’t seem to matter though, as the massive crowd participation propelled the Coathangers to the finish.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones on an eight-foot stand next to the soundboard and mixed it with a vocal-heavy soundboard feed. This room presents many audio challenges and the mix and balance of this recording was a difficult prospect. We’ve done the best under the circumstances, and hope you enjoy!

Stream “Shake Shake”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Coathangers
285 Kent
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 47:01]
01 Johnny
02 Toomerhead
03 Hurricane
04 Trailer Park Boneyard
05 Gettin Mad and Pumpin Iron
06 [banter]
07 Sick Sick Birds
08 Call To Nothing
09 [banter2]
10 My Baby
11 [banter3]
12 Jaybird
13 Shake Shake
14 [banter4]
15 Arthritis Suxx
16 Well Alright
17 Chicken 30
18 Pussywillow
19 Nestle in My Boobies
20 Cheap Cheap
21 Don’t Touch My Shit

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Coathangers, visit their website, follow them on Facebook, and purchase their official releases at the Suicide Squeeze Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to The Coathangers: June 24, 2011 285 Kent – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Thomas
    August 30, 2011 at 1:06 am

    this set really grew on me after a couple of listens and has become a favorite listen of mine; thanks for recording and sharing another talented & interesting band; cheers

  2. Exeter
    February 27, 2018 at 9:37 pm

    An earlier show before I discovered the band! Just saw them for the third time
    on Saturday last, Feb. 23, 2018. Amazing show in Seattle, except for support groups
    and the boring and annoying “light show”. As a “Boomer”, I’ve seen light shows in the past,
    and this group needs to study a bit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.