Kevin Devine: January 7, 2012 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

January 10, 2012

[screenshot from video here]

It almost unfathomable, considering the many many shows we’ve attended over the last decade, that we had not previously crossed paths with Kevin Devine. His abundant vocal and songwriting talents, and the picture perfect nature of his intelligent indie-pop records are exactly what we look for in a performer. So when we finally got the chance to catch Kevin at Maxwell’s on Saturday, the entire show felt completely natural. And when we met and chatted with Kevin after the show, he seemed like a kindred spirit. The songs themselves make it obvious that we are listening to a writer with vision, emotion and fortitude — dealing with life’s difficulties while persistently finding the beauty in it all. On Saturday, Kevin performed solo acoustic and while surrounded by diehard fans in an intimate venue, and delivered a powerful set that included much of his new album Between the Concrete & Clouds (Razor & Tie), but also dug deep into his catalog including classics “Cotton Crush”, “Tap Dance” and “Ballgame” (streaming below). Kevin even included a song from his old band Miracle of ’86 (“Knife”), and two new songs. Kevin Devine will be touring Europe in February, and will be back in the US for some Midwest dates in March, but promised some East coast dates in the Spring.

Stream “Ballgame”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Kevin Devine
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:26:30]
01 [intro]
02 Petite Mort
03 Tap Dance
04 Off Screen
05 Afterparty
06 Brooklyn Boy
07 Time To Burn
08 [banter – Maxwells]
09 Knife
10 [banter – dream]
11 Awake in the Dirt
12 A Story A Sneak
13 Noose Dressed Like a Necklace
14 [banter – I know how its gonna go]
15 Tomorrows Just Too Late
16 Carnival
17 No Sides
18 [banter – encore]
19 Country Sky Glow
20 Cotton Crush
21 Ballgame
22 [crowd – teases]
23 I Used To Be Someone
24 Between the Concrete and Clouds
25 [banter – thanks]
26 Brother’s Blood

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Kevin Devine, visit his website, and purchase Between the Concrete and Clouds from Razor and Tie Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to Kevin Devine: January 7, 2012 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. laura
    January 10, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    So…does this mean we can all look forward to more kevin tapings in the NYC area?! YUSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!

  2. bill
    January 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    I tried downloading it twice and each time i couldnt archive it because of an error in the files

  3. January 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    I suspect I’ll be recording Kevin’s NYC shows from now on, yes.

  4. January 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Bill. I downloaded the mp3s into my laptop in about 5 minutes. Then I unzipped the files and played them in WMP. No problems.

  5. January 11, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    oh sweet baby jesus he’s god.

  6. Kyle
    January 12, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I’m having the same problem as Bill up there. Downloaded it twice, tried extracting with Windows and also with WinRar, but it says the ZIP file has an error.

  7. January 12, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Your download did not complete. I tried it on my work computer and it stalled at 91%. Then I tried it again, and it went through fine. Its a hiccup on the server. Make sure the downloaded file is 100% and that its the same size as the download target.

  8. Roberto
    February 4, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Thanks for this. Its been a few years, so its nice to have a well done live show.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.