The Antlers: July 30, 2012 Glasslands Gallery – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

August 1, 2012

[photo courtesy of Chad from The – full set here]

The Antlers “secret” show at Glasslands Gallery on Monday was announced in the morning and sold out within a few minutes. For a band that sold out the 1200-capacity Webster Hall the last time they played New York, The Antlers took the opportunity of this small surprise gig to play for an extremely worthwhile charitable effort. is an organization that provides safe and clean drinking water to developing nations, and this concert raised more than $4000 for the cause. The Antlers also treated the crowd to a run-through their brand new four-song EP Undersea (Anti Records). The EP represents the continued maturity in the songwriting talents of this superb band, as each of the four tracks are less lyrically driven and more intense sonic atmospheric pieces. That’s not to say that Peter Silberman’s voice doesn’t soar at several points during the EP, but this is a band that has taken the studio like a fish to water and the results are astounding. At Glasslands, the EP was performed straight through and the live setting offered some challenges, but the band was prepared and the songs flowed naturally. We are streaming “Crest” from the EP. The balance of the set consisted of selected tracks from Hospice and Burst Apart, songs that continue to mature and develop as live performances. After a profound “Dog To Sleep”, the band returned for two encores the final of which was a brilliant “Wake”, which we are also streaming below. The Antlers will be on tour for the next several months, but return to NYC for a gig at the newly arrived ATP Festival on September 22.

I recorded this set utilizing our installed recording rig at Glasslands, the Studio Projects LSD2 mics and an excellent board feed. The sound quality of this recording is superb. Enjoy!

If you download this recording, we ask that you further the cause and visit the website to contribute to [HERE].

Stream “Crest”:

Stream “Wake”:

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

The Antlers
Glasslands Gallery
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Studio Projects LSD2 (XY Cardioid) > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:40:10]
01 Drift Dive
02 Endless Ladder
03 [banter – home]
04 Crest
05 [banter – Undersea]
06 Zelda
07 [banter –]
08 Rolled Together
09 Parentheses
10 No Widows
11 Atrophy
12 [banter – monsters]
13 Shiva
14 Two
15 Hounds
16 [banter – thanks]
17 Putting The Dog to Sleep
18 [encore break]
19 I Don’t Want Love
20 Wake

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Antlers, visit their website, and purchase Undersea from their site [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to The Antlers: July 30, 2012 Glasslands Gallery – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. Vincent Boyton
    August 3, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    (writing from Ireland) This is a wonderful treat from an amazing band. I have been lucky enough to see the band in my hometown of Cork towards the end of 2011 and more recently again in Lisbon during the summer of 2012. The band is back in Ireland again in September for Electric Picnic so it is great to have such a wonderful a live document from this great period in the band’s musical evolution. The studio performances are great but the songs really breathe and live in their live performance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.