Ty Segall: September 24, 2012 Death By Audio – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

October 6, 2012

[photo by Alan Bee

Ty Segall played his first show ever in NYC at Death By Audio. Of course, that was several years ago and these days Ty plays much larger venues. On the Sunday before this show, Ty played a new outdoor venue to a couple of thousand fans. But in a return to his roots, Ty Segall played a surprise show on a Monday night at DBA. As if to confirm the reports that his new album Slaughterhouse is influenced more by 70’s hard rock than by the garage-rock sounds of his earlier material, Ty opened this show with a Sabbath cover (streaming below) and played four straight heavy covers. The Segall material was mixed among his large catalog, with Slaughterhouse tracks sprinkled in throughout. We’re streaming the poppier “Tell Me What’s Inside Your Heart”, and if you listen to the end, you’ll hear Ty thank DBA’s Edan, whose booking of this show as a local coup. Although packed into the small DIY venue, the crowd was very much into the show and their energy was contagious. This was one of the most fun shows we’ve seen all year.

Acidjack mounted a new pair of modest Berliner mics on the ceiling of DBA, as we expected the raucous crowd. We ran the cables across the ceiling and over the soundboard area where I also received an excellent feed. The sound quality of this recording is quite excellent. Enjoy!

Thee Oh Sees was also recorded and will be posted this coming week.

Stream “Paranoid [Sabbath cover]”:

Stream “Tell Me What’s Inside Your Heart”:

Download the Complete show: MP3 [HERE] / FLAC [HERE]

Ty Segall
Death By Audio
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Berliner CM-33 > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-10-04

[Total Time 43:09]
01 Paranoid (first verse) [Sabbath]
02 Motorhead [Motorhead]
03 Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap [AC/DC]
04 Silver Machine [Hawkwind]
05 I Wear Black
06 I Bought My Eyes
07 Tell Me What’s Inside Your Heart
08 Muscle Man
09 Finger
10 You’re The Doctor
11 Imaginary Person
12 The Drag
13 Standing At The Station
14 My Sunshine
15 Wave Goodbye
16 Paranoid (second verse) [Sabbath]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Ty Segall, visit his website, and purchase his latest album Slaughterhouse from In The Red Records [HERE].

2 Responses to Ty Segall: September 24, 2012 Death By Audio – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. Roman
    October 13, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Thanks so much for this, there is never ever enough live Ty Segall floating around for me, glad to see people starting to tape more of his shows and share them. Hope to see many more in the future and thanks again!

  2. August 22, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    This was my first Ty show- I had not heard of him. And I was all like waaaaa! I’m now a 47 year old full on pathetic groupie. Best music on the planet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.