The Gourds: August 29, 2012 Mercury Lounge – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

December 3, 2012

[Photos courtesty of Mammacass4demsgudbeebles at We Are Cucurbs Wiki.]

Johnny reports:
“I don’t care what kind of mood you happen to be in, there’s something about going to see The Gourds that pretty much guarantees a good time. Between the upbeat vibe the band exudes and the raucous, fun-lovin’ fans they attract (no doubt infused with copious amounts of alcohol) it’s like being at a great party. The expert musicianship, great songcraft and interesting choice of covers they perform definitely help support that atmosphere. We caught our first Gourds concert last year, had a blast and were very happy to see them come back to town this summer. And, as expected, we sure weren’t disappointed with a show that may have surpassed the last one. We’ve become big fans of The Gourds ourselves and can’t recommend strongly enough that you get out and see them when you have the chance and need to put a big smile on your face.

At the great-sounding Mercury Lounge the audio was perfectly dialed in, as usual, on this night and the mix sounded sublime. With kudos going to the superbly combined efforts of The Gourds’ engineer, Mark, and the venue’s engineer, Kevin, the quality of hi and lo’s recording is excellent. Enjoy!”

Stream “Cracklins”: 

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Stream “Werewolves of London”: 

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download the FLAC/MP3 files and stream this entire show on the Live Music Archive [HERE]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense.  The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission.  Please respect our request.

The Gourds
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY

Recordist : hi and lo
Source : MBHO KA200/603 > Custom Preamp + Soundboard >> Tascam DR-680 @ 24 bit / 48 kHz
Edit : WaveLab V6 (mixdown/eq/gain/fades/dither/resampling)
Encoding : FLAC v1.2.1 ( Level 8 ) with TLH v2.6.0 (Build 168)

01. Intro
02. Everybody’s Missin’ the Sun [Grin / Nils Lofgren]
03. Pickles
04. Tomb of Nefertari
05. Lament
06. Pine Island Bayou
07. Illegal Oyster
08. Cracklins
09. Jenny Brown > I Can’t Stand It [Lou Reed]
10. Your Benefit
11. Blankets
12. Eyes of a Child
13. Honduras
14. All the Labor
15. Haunted
16. Drop What I’m Doing
17. Two Sparrows
18. All in the Pack > Sheena Is a Punk Rocker [Ramones]
19. Lower 48
20. (Encore Call)
21. Mister Betty
22. Pill Bug Blues
23. Caledonia
24. Werewolves of London [Warren Zevon]
25. Ants on the Melon
26. Maria
27. Michoacan [Atwood Allen / Kim Fowley / Doug Sahm / The Sir Douglas Quintet]
28. Take Me Back to Tulsa [Bob Wills / Tommy Duncan]
29. The Waxies’ Dargle [traditional]

Running Time: 2:15:49

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Gourds, visit their website, visit their Facebook and MySpace pages, and purchase their official releases and merchandise [HERE], at Amazon and at iTunes.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.