Laura Stevenson: February 8, 2013 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac/MP3/Streaming

February 13, 2013

[photo by acidjack]

We last saw Laura Stevenson exactly a year ago, at last year’s Don Giovanni showcase where she was a mid-bill act. In the year that followed, Laura has ramped up her career to the point where she was the Friday night headliner and brought out a respectable crowd on the night of the blizzard of the century, even when her family could not make it in from Long Island. She released an EP this month in anticipation of her new album Wheel, which will be released in April. At Music Hall on Friday, she and her band The Cans performed an hour long set which highlighted Laura’s strengths, sweet vocals and superb songwriting — the sort of confessional folk-influenced style that can be redundant, but in the hands of craftsperson like Stevenson is a joy to behold. She only played a handful of songs from Wheel, along with a nice selection from her several previous albums, but the new material is quite strong. We expect that after the release of the new album, she’ll climb to even greater heights. Laura Stevenson will be on tour throughout March including multiple SXSW shows, dates [here].

I recorded this set in the same manner as the Jeffrey Lewis recording and the sound is equally superb.

Stream “Barnacles”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Laura Stevenson
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser 8040 Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded by nyctaper and acidjack
Produced by nyctaper 2013-02-13

[Total Time 1:02:11]
01 Runner
02 [banter – amp]
03 The Healthy One
04 Mouthbreather
05 Caretaker
06 Oh California [new song]
07 808
08 Baby Bones
09 Telluride
10 A Shine To It
11 Renee
12 Barnacles
13 [banter – electric guitar]
14 Nervous Rex
15 Peachy
16 The Wheel
17 Master of Art
18 [encore break]
19 The Move

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Laura Stevenson, visit her website, and purchase her official releases, including Wheel when its released in April, from Don Giovanni Records [HERE]

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.