Mac DeMarco: February 1, 2013 Webster Hall – Flac/MP3/Streaming

February 7, 2013

Mac DeMarco - Hatfield
[photo by Amanda Hatfield – courtesy of brooklynvegan]

Mac DeMarco is pulling your leg. He acts the part of the hick from Canada just playing his guitar with his friends, joking about everything, drinking, burping into the microphone, and generally just goofing around. And then the music starts. The songs are typical for an early 20s performer, so yeah there’s also some goof in there, but the serious aspect is that Mac can write and perform top notch indie-pop. Captured Tracks is in on it too, as they’ve released the debut EP and Mac’s new album 2. At Webster Hall on Friday, all of the hijinx were present but the musicianship was there too. Mac worked through much of his still young catalog and threw in a few crazy covers — who goes from Brubeck to Limp Bizkit on a dime — but still managed to perform an extremely entertaining forty-five minute set. Mac DeMarco will continue to tour throughout the year and today it was announced that he’ll be the support on the new Phoenix tour.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the Ty Segall set and the sound is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream “Ode to Viceroy”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Mac DeMarco
Webster Hall
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, downsample set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 43:31]
01 [introduction]
02 The Stars Keep On Calling My Name
03 Cooking Up Something Good
04 Rock and Roll Nightclub
05 Ode To Viceroy
06 [banter – its only smells]
07 Annie
08 Freaking Out the Neighborhood
09 Baby’s Wearing Blue Jeans
10 My Kind Of Woman
11 She’s Really All I Need
12 Take Five [Dave Brubeck]
13 Just One of Those Days [Limp Bizkit]
14 Schism [Tool]
15 She’s Really All I Need (Reprise)
16 Still Together

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Mac DeMarco, visit his artist page at Captured Tracks, and purchase his debut album 2 from Captured Tracks [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.