Pujol: May 23, 2014 Death By Audio – Flac/MP3/Streaming

May 26, 2014

Pujol DBA
[photo by nyctaper]

The last time we checked in with Pujol, it was more than two years ago at an impressive introduction to the band at the Impose SXSW show. At that point, Daniel and the band were previewing songs from the upcoming album UNITED STATES OF BEING, which was released a couple of months after SXSW. On Friday night at Death By Audio, Pujol returned to NYC to support the new album KLUDGE which was released a week ago. The album stretches the boundaries of Pujol’s punk/garage sound and adds a number of new ideas and influences. But the live set is a straightforward and energetic run through his catalog. At DBA, we heard about half the new album (“Circles” is streaming below), a democratic selection of older material, and even a few deep cuts. The takeaway from this show however is that Pujol continues to impress and given the evolution of his music we expect greater things for our next visit, which we hope doesn’t take another two years. The band’s tour continues into the Midwest and West coast throughout May and June, dates here.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser cards on a stand at the front and center of the stage and mixed it with a fine board feed mixed by Edan. The sound is superb, enjoy!

Stream “Circles”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct download links or the files on other sites without our permission. Feel free to re-post the Soundcloud link. Please respect our request.

Death By Audio
Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Upfront Audience

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 47:07]
01 Too Safe
02 Manufactured Crisis Control
03 Mayday
04 Post Grad
05 Psychic Pain
06 Circles
07 [banter – Ithaca]
08 Point of View
09 Pitch Black
10 Dark Haired Suitor
11 Chuggin Love
12 [tuning – thanks]
13 No Words
14 Black Rabbit
15 Youniverse
16 [encore break]
17 Angelbaby

If you download this recording from NYCTaper PLEASE SUPPORT Pujol, visit their website, and purchase Kludge from the Saddle Creek Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.