Wilco: September 6, 2014 Lockn Fest (1st Night) – Flac/MP3/Streaming

September 13, 2014

Wilco Jeff Smile Lockn
[screen capture from this video]

Wilco is currently celebrating their 20th year as a band, and we’ve been there virtually from the beginning — my first Wilco show was at Mercury Lounge in 1996. And throughout these past two decades, the band has consistently delivered quality albums, epic live shows and an infinite number of memories. I think its fair to say that many of my own personal peak experiences have come with Wilco as a soundtrack — whether it be a classic 1997 show at Irving Plaza, a rewarding trip to Coney Island, a great roadtrip upstate, or another great roadtrip upstate, or what is perhaps this site’s highlight last Summer’s cover extravaganza. So this year I even considered dropping everything and driving down to Virginia for a day. Unfortunately that was not possible, but that’s what friends are for. And this site has been blessed with some great friends, including Kubacheck who volunteered to “cover” Lockn Festival for the site. So we’ll have both Wilco sets from this Festival, as will we have the recently announced Portchester shows. For this night, the takeaway was Jeff Tweedy’s tongue-in-cheek revelation that he hates rainbows. Although the set was a truncated ninety-minute festival-sized Wilco show, there were also several musical highlights. As this is the 20th year celebration, some early numbers have been featured in the setlist and we are streaming from their first album “Shouldn’t Be Ashamed”. See you at the Cap in October!

Kubacheck recorded this show from the official taper’s section with his high-end MBHO cards. I did some post-production which included boosting the levels and adding some tasty EQ to provide some punch. Overall, its an outstanding recording that is consistent with the many quality Wilco recordings we’ve had on NYCTaper. Enjoy!

Stream “Shouldn’t Be Ashamed”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Lockn Festival
Arrington VA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded at Taper’s Section

MBHO 603a – KA-500 > Naiant Tinybox > Roland R-05 > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge
(level adjustments, EQ, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac
(320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded by Kubacheck
Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:29:42]
01 War on War
02 Misunderstood
03 Impossible Germany
04 Shouldn’t Be Ashamed
05 [banter – chicken weed]
06 Forget the Flowers
07 I’m the Man Who Loves You
08 [banter – rainbows suck]
09 Red-Eyed and Blue
10 I Got You
11 Jesus Etc
12 Handshake Drugs
13 Born Alone
14 Laminated Cat
15 Passenger Side
16 California Stars
17 Walken
18 Kingpin
19 Dawned on Me
20 A Shot in the Arm

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their official releases at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.