White Fence: October 13, 2014 Baby’s All Right – Flac/MP3/Streaming

October 20, 2014

[photos by PSquared Photography]

When I think about CMJ week, White Fence always comes to mind. It was 2011 when they played our show — a frenetic set that was one of the best if not the actual best set ever in the many years we’ve presented CMJ parties. Three years later, White Fence has become exactly what we believed possible back then — a consistently excellent band that has produced a plethora of remarkably pure and faithful sixties and seventies styled psychedelia and garage rock in 3 to 4 minute bursts of goodness. The band now records for Drag City Records and their latest album is their first for this excellent label. For The Recently Found Innocent is also the first album recorded outside of Tim Presley’s home studio and he chose an excellent collaborator to help produce this album — the equally prolific Ty Segall. Found Innocent is a more conventional White Fence album, although it certainly does not deviate from the the band’s overall sound. Last Monday, White Fence was back in town and they will be on the East Coast through CMJ week. Their set at Baby’s All Right was a headline spot on an excellent three-band bill and it didn’t start until almost 1am on a school night, but the crowd for the most part stuck around. Tim has employed a couple of new players for this touring band, but the result was consistent with prior live White Fence experiences. The live show gives a different energy to the material and the songs take on altered arrangements from the recorded versions. The Baby’s set maintained a high energy for over an hour and while the setlist covered much of the new album, it was two older numbers where the band stretched out and jammed a bit. “Baxter’s Corner” has for years been the go-to for extended performance and this night it was again a burner, but also “And by Always” was a sprawling treat and we are streaming that number below.

This week White Fence will be playing at least four CMJ shows, including the Panache Booking CMJ “Hangover Brunch” at Baby’s All Right on Sunday where they will be playing an acoustic set. We will be there to record that special set.

This set was recorded by House FOH Devin, who provided a superb live mix of the multitrack. There are also cardioid microphones installed near the lighting rig about 15 feet in front of the stage. In post-production, I mixed the two sources and the results are quite excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “And by Always”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request

White Fence
Babys All Right
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Soundboard + Audience Multitrack Recording

Multitrack Soundboard (engineered and recorded by Devin Foley) > Devin mix Wav files + Room mic wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, setfades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:03:32]
01 Chairs in the Dark
02 Fragility
03 Arrow Man
04 Wolf Gets Red Faced
05 Like That
06 Trouble Is Trouble Never Seen
07 [banter – fix a drum]
08 Baxter Corner
09 Actor
10 Hard Water
11 Makers Nest And Words Freeze
12 Anger Who Keeps You Under
13 Sandra
14 And by Always
15 Get That Heart
16 Pink Gorilla
17 Paranoid Bait

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT White Fence, visit the Facebook page, and purchase For The Recently Found Innocent from the Drag City Records website [HERE].


Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to White Fence: October 13, 2014 Baby’s All Right – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. October 20, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Cate Le Bon on guitar no?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.