Wilco: October 28, 2014 Capitol Theatre – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Set

October 29, 2014

[photos by acidjack]

Wilco, themselves the spawn of the No Depression greats Uncle Tupelo, are touring to celebrate their twentieth year as a band. Look around at acts of their longevity, and you tend to see one of two things: strict and competent adherence to a winning formula (Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam) or aggressive experimentation and reinvention (Radiohead). Wilco may claim to do both — there’s a straight line from the rock n’ roll stomp of a song like A.M>‘s “Casino Queen” (the second to last song of the night) to a song like “Wilco (The Song”), which opened the night. But there is also that seismic shift to point to that began on Being There and solidified on Yankee Hotel Foxtrot which catapulted the band beyond their existing limits into the realm of something special. The kind of band that, in gracing the renewed Capitol Theatre for the first time, belongs firmly in the first rank of bands that made that place famous.

This set was, if one can call it such, the usual harassment of riches from this band — two hours and twenty minutes long, 30 songs, and many old and underplayed favorites. “Casino Queen” joined Doug Sahm’s “Give Me Back the Key To My Heart” and “Too Far Apart” in a semi-amplified acoustic set that closed the evening, and early material (and a fair number of ballads) was the rule for much of the night. “Hummingbird” found touring guitarist Nels Cline on a tear that left Tweedy to say “I don’t think you’ll hear it like that ever again”. The beauty of this band is that even with three nights of shows in the same venue (all of which we are covering), you’ll never hear something the same way again.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK5 and an MK8 microphone in the “mid-side” configuration to maximize control over reverberation and crowd noise. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]
Permanent Links if the above is not working: [MP3]
/ [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:


Capitol Theatre
Port Chester, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK5c+MK8 (M-S, at SBD, slightly ROC)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices USBPre2>Sony PCM-D50>24bit/48kHz WAV>Voxengo MSED (decode M-S)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (adjust levels, fades, compression)>Izotope Ozone 5 (light EQ, light effects)>Audacity 2.0.5 (tracking, fades, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 2:22:15]

01 Wilco (The Song)
02 I Must Be High
03 You Are My Face
04 Shouldn’t Be Ashamed
05 At Least That’s What You Said
06 Handshake Drugs
07 Side With the Seeds
08 Promising
09 Sunken Treasure
10 Reservations
11 Muzzle of Bees
12 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
13 [banter]
14 She’s A Jar
15 War on War
16 Magazine Called Sunset
17 Hummingbird
18 On and On and On
19 How to Fight Loneliness
20 Kamera
21 [banter2]
22 Country Disappeared
23 Hate It Here
24 Theologians
25 Monday
26 Dawned On Me
27 Shot In the Arm
28 [encore break]
29 Kingpin
30 I’m A Wheel
31 [encore break 2]
32 Too Far Apart*
33 Casino Queen *
34 Give Me Back the Key To My Heart [Doug Sahm]*

* performed semi-amplified

If you download this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their official releases at their website [HERE].


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to Wilco: October 28, 2014 Capitol Theatre – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Set

  1. ciaoluna
    October 30, 2014 at 8:02 am

    Could not agree with you more. Thanks again for capturing this magic. The combination of each band member’s skill and the perfection of the sound in that venue made for a great night of beautiful music. I’ve caught every tour that’s come through nyc since 1994 and have to say Jeff & Co. are at their apex and you would be hard pressed to find a better band in this country that has been so great for so long. I remember during this set the feeling of being blessed to have followed them through this 20 yr journey.

  2. worldrecordplayer
    October 30, 2014 at 11:36 am

    thanks for capturing this, sounds great.I was there last night. Ditto everything you and ciaoluna wrote, they are an incredible band, so on top of their game, a wonder to behold, with the best songbook of all.

  3. ciaoluna
    October 31, 2014 at 9:09 am

    Hey Dan – good to see you again last night. Another stellar performance by a wonderful band. Looking forward to your capture no doubt. Was hoping to see you at YLT but I’m going the night The Feelies open. Maybe you’ll reconsider S-K.
    Catch you whenever luna is back in NYC for sure. Thanks again for all you and the guys do. The most pleasant sight at a show besides seeing the band is seeing you all setting up. Take care. Michael

  4. acidjack
    October 31, 2014 at 9:11 am

    ^ I’m hoping to tape the S-K shows, or at least one, if I can get a ticket. I missed them when they went on sale.

  5. Nick
    November 1, 2014 at 11:13 am

    When can we respectfully expect the other 2 shows?

  6. Joe
    November 1, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Oh so good! Thank you for sharing your labour of love. Great to see Theologians back in the set list with all these other gems.

  7. adam
    November 1, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Ditto.. Glad you used M/S wilco crowed will be loud.. Hell Im a big taper. Wilco is my favorite band period I don’t tape them.. Why? Because I cant help singing along… I stay as far away from the taper section as I can LOL

  8. November 1, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    We are aiming for Monday and Tuesday for the last two Wilco shows. We have a very heavy backlog of material now, but we are giving these shows priority.

  9. November 1, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    thanks…went night two…but each night was special, and you got it!

  10. Tommy
    November 4, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Thanks very much for posting this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.