Wilco: October 30, 2014 Capitol Theatre Portchester – Flac/MP3/Streaming (Two Recordings)

November 4, 2014

[photos by PSquared Photography – JFCB soundcloud photos by him]

For Wilco, the art of arranging a setlist for the third show in three nights, in the same city, without any repeats (sans one audible-called encore) must have been challenging — but ultimately rewarding. The idea that a band can play nearly 100 songs to three-thousand people a night and still retain the same performance energy and passion is remarkable. Indeed, Thursday’s show at the Capitol Theatre was perhaps the best of the three nights in Portchester. It certainly was the show with the deepest of the deep cuts. We were happy to finally hear “Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard” for the first time live with Wilco, along with never-heard-before alternate version of Wilco’s earliest “hit” the acoustic-led “Outtamind”. Both of those tracks are streaming below. The setlist was also heavy in the Wilco/Bragg/Guthrie tracks that don’t make it out very often and several obscure tracks from all of the albums. “Candyfloss” brought us back to 2004, and “Forget the Flowers” was right out of 1997. This night’s acoustic segment was the oddest of the three, as the usually slow-to-crushingly-loud “Misunderstood” was charmingly understated, and the band’s finale was a cover sung entirely by the audience. While we prefer that Wilco sing “Ripple” themselves, the band’s sincere tribute to the history of this venue was quite well thought and ultimately effective.

Our two recordings for this show were captured from the exact same excellent front left corner of the soundboard location as the previous two nights. My recording information is identical from the recording of the 29th, and for this night we have added JFCB’s excellent Milab VM-44 Cardioid pull. Both recordings are similarly superb but have unique characteristics. Enjoy!

Stream “Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard” (nyctaper recording):

Stream “Impossible Germany” (nyctaper recording):

Stream “Outtamind” (JFCB recording):

Stream “Via Chicago” (JFCB recording):

Download the Complete Show:
nyctaper version [MP3] / [FLAC]
JFCB version [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request, and feel free to repost the Soundcloud links.

Capitol Theatre
Portchester NY

Digital Master Recording
Front Of Board Audience

Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, EQ, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 2:14:47]
01 Less Than You Think
02 Blood of the Lamb
03 In a Future Age
04 Bull Black Nova
05 I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
06 One Wing
07 Either Way
08 Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
09 At My Window Sad and Lonely
10 One by One
11 [banter – shut the fuck up]
12 Hesitating Beauty
13 [banter – costumes]
14 Summerteeth
15 Via Chicago
16 Whole Love
17 [banter – twenty more]
18 Say You Miss Me
19 Pick Up the Change
20 Forget the Flowers
21 [banter – communication gap]
22 Passenger Side
23 I’m Always in Love
24 Candyfloss
25 Red Eyed and Blue
26 I Got You
27 Outtasite
28 [encore break]
29 Outtamind
30 Impossible Germany
31 The Lonely 1
32 [second encore break]
33 Misunderstood
34 New Madrid
35 Give Back the Key to my Heart [Doug Sahm]
36 Ripple [Grateful Dead]


Thursday, October 30, 2014
The Capitol Theatre
Port Chester, NY, USA

Source: AUD > Milab VM-44 Links (cardioid) > Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > TLH (check/fix SBEs, FLAC conversion) > FLAC (level 8)
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

[Total time: 2:16:02]
01. Less Than You Think
02. Blood of the Lamb
03. In a Future Age
04. Bull Black Nova
05. I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
06. One Wing
07. Either Way
08. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
09. At My Window Sad and Lonely
10. One by One
11. [banter 1]
12. Hesitating Beauty
13. [banter 2]
14. Summer Teeth
15. Via Chicago
16. Whole Love
17. [banter 3]
18. Say You Miss Me
19. Pick Up the Change
20. Forget the Flowers
21. Passenger Side
22. I’m Always in Love
23. Candyfloss
24. Red-Eyed and Blue
25. I Got You (At the End of the Century)
26. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
27. [1st encore break]
28. Outta Mind (Outta Sight)
29. Impossible Germany
30. The Lonely 1
31. [2nd encore break]
32. Misunderstood
33. New Madrid [Uncle Tupelo]
34. Give Back the Key to My Heart [Doug Sahm]
35. Ripple [Grateful Dead]

For Marty.

If you download this recording from NYCTaper we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their 20th Anniversary Box Set Alpha Mike Foxtrot from their website [HERE].


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to Wilco: October 30, 2014 Capitol Theatre Portchester – Flac/MP3/Streaming (Two Recordings)

  1. ciaoluna
    November 4, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Wow you’ve outdone yourselves yet again. Wished I could’ve made night 2 put your recording of 1 & 3 will hold me over for a good long while. Thanks again guys. YLT is just around the corner..

  2. Jon S
    November 4, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Thanks nyctaper, acidjack, and johnny fried chicken boy! You guys went all out for these and it shows. It couldn’t have been easy but it sure was worth it! Thank you very much!!

  3. SSimpson
    November 10, 2014 at 11:21 am

    very nice. thanks for doing this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.