King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard: June 19, 2015 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

June 29, 2015

king gizzard 2
[photos courtesy of Will and We All Want Someone To Shout For]

In the year since we were first introduced to King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, they’ve grown from being fairly obscure Australian psych-rock ravers to the group that released one of our favorite albums of the last year, signed with Castle Face Records in the US, and this past week sold out Bowery Ballroom. Last Fall they played two of our favorite shows of the past year, a eye-opener as support for White Fence at Baby’s All Right, and a completely insane set at a loft show on Halloween. In between the band released I’m In Your Mind Fuzz to universally positive reviews and gained enough of a foothold in the US to return six months later from halfway across the world and fill a room that it takes others years to achieve. That says a lot for the musicianship and songwriting of The Gizz, but for their live shows its mostly about the unbridled energy they bring to each performance. At Bowery, the band started with the four-song medley that opens Mind and the crowd was with them from note one — this was one of those shows where it was hard to ever even catch your breath. The set also featured a handful of new songs, each of which fit right into the flow and maintained the energy inside the venue. This bodes well for the quality of the band’s future releases. I later learned from speaking with the band that there will be likely two upcoming releases, details to follow.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps cards and a fine board feed from our usual location at the Bowery and the sound quality is quite excellent. Enjoy!

We also captured the Baby’s All Right sets from later in the week and will post those in the coming days.

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Muckraker”:

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Bowery Ballroom
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:12:45]
01 I’m In Your Mind
02 I’m Not In Your Mind
03 Cellophane
04 I’m In Your Mind Fuzz
05 Gamma Knife
06 Hot Water
07 Hot Wax
08 Robot Stop
09 The River
10 Muckraker
11 Evil Devil
12 Danger Money
13 Am I In Heaven
14 Pill

If you download this recording from NYCTaper PLEASE SUPPORT King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, visit their website, and purchase I’m In Your Mind Fuzz from the Heavenly Records website [HERE] or in the US through Castle Face Records , buy it [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard: June 19, 2015 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. June 29, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    Big thanks for this show !

    “Gamma Knife” / “Robot Stop” / “Evil Devil” are they new songs ?

  2. June 29, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    “The set also featured a handful of new songs”, yeah the answer was there in front of my eyes…

  3. Dano
    June 30, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    Whoa awesome can’t wait was at the show it was awesome night!

  4. Jon
    July 10, 2015 at 10:12 am

    When are we gonna get the Baby’s All Right show!?

  5. July 10, 2015 at 10:18 am

    Its mixed and it sounds great. Its likely coming Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.