Mac McCaughan: May 16, 2015 Baby’s All Right – Flac/MP3/Streaming

June 23, 2015

[photo by Chris Quartly – courtesy of Free Williamsburg]

Mac McCaughan has pretty much done it all in the world of music. He’s the co-owner of Merge Records, one of the foremost independent labels operating today. He’s fronts Superchunk, one of indie rock’s most beloved and prolific bands of the last twenty-five years. But Mac has never released a solo record in his own name. His side project Portastatic has released a handful of albums over the years, but the 2015’s Non-Believers is a Mac McCaughan record. Back in April, we posted Mac’s solo show from the Bull City Record Store Day concert that featured a couple of songs from the new album. And in a nice bookend, in May at Baby’s All Right we captured this show which featured a full band (openers Flesh Wounds as Mac’s backing band) performing four Non-Believers tracks among Superchuck classics, selected Portastatic tracks and two neat covers. Mid-set Mac played a mini solo show before the band returned to close out the night ripping through some classics and three well-deserved encores.

Mac will be playing a few select dates during the Summer before we catch him again at Hopscotch Fest in September. Yesterday, Mac announced some new dates for the West Coast in September after Hopscotch, all dates here.

This set was recorded by Baby’s FOH Harrison. We mixed Harrison’s excellent board mix with the room mics and the result is a superb recording. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Only Do”:

Stream “Teenage Kicks” (Undertones cover):

Mac McCaughan
Babys All Right
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Soundboard + Audience
Multitrack Recording

Multitrack Soundboard (engineer Harrison) > Harrison mix Wav files + Room mic wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:14:39]
01 [introduction]
02 Josephine
03 Lost Again
04 Only Do
05 White Wave
06 Angels of Sleep
07 Come Upstairs
08 [banter]
09 Driveway to Driveway
10 Breaking Down
11 Me and You and Jackie Mittoo
12 The Popular Music
13 Home at Dawn
14 Learned to Surf
15 Detroit Has a Skyline
16 Naked Pilseners
17 Drill Me
18 Box Batteries
19 Noisy Night
20 [encore break]
21 Teenage Kicks [Undertones]
22 San Andreas
23 Pull Down the Shades [Toy Love]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, PLEASE SUPPORT Mac McCaughan by visiting Merge Records and buying Non-Believers and his other releases there.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.