75 Dollar Bill: June 28, 2015 Trans-Pecos – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

August 5, 2015

75 Dollar Bill

75 Dollar Bill is quickly becoming a staple in New York’s rich improvised and experimental music scene. They’ve got one proper LP, Wooden Bag (out on Other Music Recording Co.), and a few self-released tapes to their name, but it’s their live performances that are creating a splash that even the New York Times is picking up on. Though they’ve been known to incorporate other musicians in their live shows, 75 Dollar Bill proper is a duo, with Che Chen on guitar and Rick Brown on homemade percussion and horns. While that description may give you the notion that the band trades in minimalism, the rich textures of Chen’s guitar played through a small practice amp combined in complex rhythms with Brown’s improvised and homemade percussion will set you straight. This set from Trans-Pecos, opening for the equally mighty Bill Orcutt and Tom Carter, finds the duo exploring some material off their first release, the simply titled cassette (“Every Last Coffee or Tea” and “Water in the Lock”),  along with a shorter improvisation and a finale of “I Was Real,” which doesn’t appear to have yet seen release. Though the technique to the music is intricate, it’s not fussy in the least bit—what’s clear is that Chen and Brown are having infectious fun and it’s sure to rub off on you.

I recorded this set with the AKGs at the stage lip and a soundboard feed from Trans-Pecos FOH Max. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Catch 75 Dollar Bill later this month at this can’t-miss show also featuring Eleventh Dream Day and Antietam at Mercury Lounge, August 21. Tickets on sale.

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

75 Dollar Bill
Queens, NY

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Max) + AKG C480B/CK61 (stage lip) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, compression, mixdown, normalize) > Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, imaging) > Audacity 2.0.5 (fades, downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [34:38]
01. Intro / Every Last Coffee or Tea
02. Water in the Lock
03. [banter]
04. [untitled improvisation]
05. I Was Real

Support 75 Dollar Bill: Bandcamp | Buy Wooden Bag from Other Music Recording Co.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to 75 Dollar Bill: June 28, 2015 Trans-Pecos – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. mike
    August 6, 2015 at 9:10 am

    thanks! these guys are fantastic! saw them in Eugene at a small art space and they were very personable and it was a great show. thanks for uploading something different here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.