Mac DeMarco: August 17, 2015 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

September 3, 2015

[photo by Geoffrey at According to G]

Three years ago Mac DeMarco was a newcomer to NYC and a brand-new signee to Captured Tracks records. At the time it was a bit of a puzzler, as the Canadian songwriter did not fit the label’s mold. His guitar-based songs showed very little Eighties influence and his goofy sense of humor didn’t quite fit with the stoicism of Captured Tracks’ other artists. Despite all that, his charm was undeniable and the songwriting was legit. Ultimately, the signing was prescient as Mac has become perhaps the label’s most successful artist on its roster. This Summer, DeMarco released a new EP Another One and as a special treat to his adopted city, Mac played a series of four local shows on consecutive nights at four different venues.

We caught the first of these four shows at Bowery Ballroom. Freshly back from having played Outside Lands Festival in San Francisco, the band seemed to have picked up a bug on the cross-country flight as Mac confessed that he was running a fever at the outset of the night. But sick or not, Mac DeMarco delivered a highly entertaining show exactly as we expected. It was a ninety-minute run through the best of his material focusing on the new release (with a few goofy covers) while simultaneously impressing us with his musical ability and songcraft all while seemingly joking around at every turn. We are streaming the opening track from the new EP “The Way You’d Love Her”, and also one of Mac’s classic songs “Cooking Up Something Good”, but make sure to download the entire show at this night was a entertaining ride from start to finish.

Mac has a full slate of tour dates coming up, as he’ll be in Europe through September before returning to NYC for another local date at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester on October 10. After that, he’s touring across the US for a couple of months before finishing the year in Australia, all dates here.

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “The Way You’d Love Her”:

Stream “Cooking Up Something Good”:

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request, and feel free to repost the Soundcloud links.

Mac DeMarco
Bowery Ballroom
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:24:23]
01 [introduction]
02 [Broken String Jam]
03 The Way You’d Love Her
04 [I Need a Second Jam]
05 Salad Days
06 No Other Heart
07 The Stars Keep On Calling My Name
08 [banter – mandela effect]
09 Yellow [Coldplay]
10 Another One
11 Cooking Up Something Good
12 [banter – diseases]
13 Ode to Viceroy
14 Blackbird [Beatles]
15 Without Me
16 Just to Put Me Down
17 Let Her Go
18 Reelin’ in the Years [Steely Dan]
19 [banter]
20 I’ve Been Waiting for Her
21 A Heart Like Hers
22 Still Together
23 [encore break]
24 Enter Sandman [Metallica]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Mac DeMarco, visit his artist page at Captured Tracks, and purchase his new EP Another One from Captured Tracks [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.