Bambara: February 25, 2016 Palisades

March 2, 2016


The Brooklyn post-punk band Bambara knows how to make noise. This show at Palisades, to celebrate the forthcoming release of their album, Swarm, this Friday (March 4), proved what those who’ve been paying attention already knew — that this band has the charisma, and the delivery, to take them beyond Bushwick DIY stages. They’ve already had a taste of that, of course, having toured with site favorites METZ and A Place to Bury Strangers, among others. But Swarm, the band’s first professionally-recorded effort, shows this band’s possibilities. It’s a gloomy, late-night sort of effort, sustained by its rhythmic appeal and the band’s dead-on delivery. In the live setting, they don’t hold back, with frontman Reid Bateh anchoring the effort with his considerable onstage charisma while his brother Blaze hammers the drums along to William Brookshire’s bass. This show covered some of the standout tracks on Swarm, as well as favorites from the band’s debut, Dreamviolence. You’ll have plenty of opportunities to see the band around NYC in the near future, with upcoming gigs at Berlin and Saint Vitus.

I made this recording with Schoeps MK22 open cardiod microphones at the stage lip plus a soundboard feed from Palisades FOH Leeor. While the sound is a little off balance (a tad heavy on bass guitar) it is overall a high quality listen. Stream the full show (minus banter) plus the available tracks from Swarm below as well. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC/ALAC]

Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK22 (ORTF, stage lip)>NBob cables>PFA + Soundboard (engineer: Leeor)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, narrow onstage image)>Izotope Ozone 5 (effects)>Audacity 2.0.3 (track, amplify, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Her Sister, Touya
02 Filled Up With Night
03 All the Same
04 [banter1]
05 An Ill Son
06 [banter2]
07 Stop
08 All the Ugly Things
09 I Don’t Mind

Check out Bambara on Facebook, and pre-order Swarm from Arrowhawk Records here.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.