Spray Paint: June 10, 2016 Union Pool (Monofonus Press Northside Showcase)

June 13, 2016

Spray Paint
[Photos By Rocketman]

You knew it had to be Northside Festival because the G was barely running… But that didn’t stop us from trekking up to Williamsburg for the excellent and right-up-our-alley Monofonus Press showcase with Spray Paint, Beech Creeps, Running, Matchess, and the Kid Millions/Jim Sauter duo. You know we’re fans, so I’ll spare you my fawning, but also know that Spray Paint have a new record out on Goner Records, Feel the Clamps, which came out June 3, and it’s awesome as usual. The band showed up prepared with a lot of killer new material from that album we hadn’t heard yet like “Styrofoam Garbage,” “Brat Beater,” and “Burn Barrel, ” alongside some (slightly) older gems like “Polar Beer,” “Middle Relief,” and “Rest Versus Rust.” This show wrapped up the band’s tour, but be sure to keep an eye out for some West Coast 2016 dates to be announced soon.

I recorded this set from our usual location in Union Pool with a board feed from FOH Robert. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Download: [MP3/FLAC]


Spray Paint
Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Robert) + AKG C480B/CK63 (PAS) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, compression, mixdown, normalize, fades) + Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [28:59]
01. Polar Beer
02. Cussin’
03. Styrofoam Garbage
04. Middle Relief
05. Bad Times
06. Signal Master
07. Brat Beater
08. ATXHC (Dangly Earring)
09. Rest Versus Rust
10. Feel the Clamps
11. Burn Barrel

Buy Feel the Clamps on limited clear vinyl via Goner
• • Buy Dopers and other Spray Paint records from Monofonus
• • • Connect with the band at their Website, on Facebook, and on Bandcamp

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.