Sir Richard Bishop: May 17, 2017 Park Church Co-op

May 22, 2017

What’s in a guitar? Two years back, Sir Richard Bishop released Tangier Sessions, recorded on a nineteenth-century guitar of indeterminate origin bought in Switzerland. But last week at Park Church Co-op, he was back to his trusty electric and sounding fine. It turns out Bishop sounds great no matter what he’s playing. I daresay he’d conjure some fine tunes out of any instrument you set before him. This set captures him playing a couple off Tangier Sessions (“International Zone” and “Safe House”) combined with some Sun City Girls classics I hadn’t heard him play in a while like “Radio Morocco” and “Space Prophet Dogon.” Topping it off is Bishop’s sweet take on The Beatles “Till There Was You.”

I recorded this with the room mics set up ORTF at the stage lip, combined with a board feed from Park Church engineer Jasno Swarez. It sounds excellent. Enjoy!

Catch Sir Richard Bishop on tour now—still a few dates left!

Download: [MP3/FLAC]

Sir Richard Bishop
Park Church Co-op
Brooklyn, NY

Recorded and produced by Eric PH for

Soundboard (engineer: Jasno Swarez) > Roland R-26 + AKG C480B/CK61 (ORTF, stage lip) > Zoom F8 > 2 x WAV (24/48) >  Audacity 2.0.5 (align, mixdown, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (24/48, level 8)

Tracks [1:06:17]
01. International Zone
02. Radio Morocco [Sun City Girls]
03. Mystic Minor 23
04. Abydos [Sun City Girls]
05. Till There Was You [The Beatles]
06. Mekong
07. Safe House
08. [banter/tuning]
09. [Unknown]
10. Space Prophet Dogon [Sun City Girls]
11. Zurvan

• Website
• • Facebook
• • • Buy Tangier Sessions and other Sir Richard Bishop records from Drag City

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to Sir Richard Bishop: May 17, 2017 Park Church Co-op

  1. mike
    May 23, 2017 at 9:50 am

    thanks, a great guitarist!

  2. mikeL
    May 26, 2017 at 8:34 pm

    nice one eric, thanks you…keep ’em coming!

  3. May 27, 2017 at 8:43 pm

    Thank you. I saw his great show at the Big Ears Festival this year; I’m sure this will be a wonderful compliment to that memory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.