Heron Oblivion: December 9, 2018 Baby’s All Right

January 22, 2019
Photos by Michael Baca

Last month, the East Coast got a rare dose of live Heron Oblivion action in which Brooklyn lucked into this soaring seventy-minute set that includes five new songs. Holy cow! Hard to believe it’s been nearly three years since Heron Oblivion released their self-titled record. Since then they put out The Chapel, a live album recorded in January 2017 with a new, untitled song (the same one we heard back in 2016 at Union Pool) and a cover of Doug Sahm’s “At the Crossroads.” More recently, they’ve been quietly touring a set full of new songs that hopefully will see the light of day on LP2. All signs point to more greatness to come!

I recorded this set with a pair of MBHO omnidirectional mics on stage, plus a board feed from the Baby’s crew. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Downloads available at the Live Music Archive

Heron Oblivion
Baby’s All Right
Brooklyn, NY

Recorded and produced by Eric PH for nyctaper.com
Additional mixing by acidjack
Photos by Michael Baca

Soundboard + MBHO KA100N/603A (on stage, DFC) > Naiant PFA >> Sound Devices MixPre-6 > WAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (mixdown, compression, normalize, fades) + Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (tracking, tagging) > FLAC (24/48, level 8)

Tracks: [1:09:59]
01. Oriar
02. Untitled 1
03. Untitled 2
04. Untitled 3
05. Untitled 4
06. Sudden Lament
07. Untitled 5
08. Faro
09. Rama
10. At the Crossroads [Doug Sahm]

Buy Heron Oblivion via Sub Pop
• • Connect with the band on Facebook
• • • Buy assorted Howlin Rain, Comets on Fire, and Feral Ohms music via Silver Current
• • • • Buy Meg Baird’s solo LP Don’t Weigh Down the Light via Drag City
• • • • • Buy Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound records via Tee Pee

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.