Posts Tagged ‘ Bill Janovitz ’

Buffalo Tom: April 28, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

May 2, 2011

[photo courtesy of Oscar Anjewierden]

The conventional wisdom about Buffalo Tom is that they are a quintessential “90s sound” band forever interwoven with the cultural milieu of that period — specifically, their connection to the short-lived but iconic tv show “My So Called Life”. The problem with boxing in the Tom with a sound or with a decade is that those relationships are almost entirely anecedotal. Buffalo Tom is a trio with a universal guitar/bass/drums/earnest-vocals “roots rock” sound with influences from any of the last five decades, and which retains substantial relevance to this day. In that spirit, the band released Skins in March and that album is as strong as anything the band has released in the last twenty years. At Bowery Ballroom on Thursday, the Skins tracks were interwoven with the band’s most classic tracks in a strong well-paced ninety-minute set. The band even reserved “Don’t Forget Me” for the first encore slot. Bill Janovitz has also never shied away from difficult covers — the band played a Gun Club song at the Mercury Lounge show in November. At the Bowery, the Van Morrison classic “Into The Mystic” flowed naturally from the Tom’s “Larry”, and we’re streaming that set highlight below.

I recorded this set with the four microphone rig from our standard balcony location in this venue and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Larry – Into The Mystic” (Van Morrison):

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Buffalo Tom
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded Balcony Railing

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:35:43]
01 Tree House
02 Summer
03 She’s Not Your Thing
04 Arise, Watch
05 Your Stripes
06 Mineral
07 Darl
08 [banter]
09 Sunday Night
10 [banter2]
11 Tangerine
12 [banter3]
13 Late At Night
14 [banter4]
15 Reason Why
16 Taillights Fade
17 Here I Come
18 Guilty Girls
19 Rachael
20 [banter5]
21 Larry / Into the Mystic
22 I’m Allowed
23 [encore break]
24 Don’t Forget Me
25 [banter – Butterscotch tease]
26 Staples
27 Kitchen Door
28 You’ll Never Catch Him
29 [banter – thanks for coming]
30 Sodajerk

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Buffalo Tom, visit their website, and purchase Skins from the front page of their website.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.