Posts Tagged ‘ Kill Rock Stars ’

Kinski: October 23, 2015 Cake Shop

November 3, 2015


Call it post-rock or psych-rock if you want, but make sure your emphasis is on the rock. Since 1998, Seattle’s Kinski have been churning out a slew of records, many for Sub Pop and most recently with Kill Rock Stars, who released 2013’s Cosy Moments and this year’s 7 (or 8). The latter title is a reference to the band’s slightly confusing discography, though it’s not overly messy in any respect. I had some vague familiarity with Kinski prior but was still very much a newcomer a couple weeks back, seeing them live for the first time. The band stopped by Cake Shop on their brief East Coast tour to open for Oneida (that set here) and had the small room packed to the gills by a crowd clearly more in-the-know than me. This set draws mostly from 7 (or 8), adding a couple yet-to-be-titled songs and one classic cut, “Crybaby Blowout” off Down Below It’s Chaos (2007). One of my favorites from this set is off a (sadly, sold out at the source) split EP with Sandrider released earlier this year, the moody and impeccably-titled “The Narcotic Comforts of the Status Quo.”

I recorded this set with the AKG’s set up on the ceiling at the edge of the stage, combined with an expert, true stereo board feed from Cake Shop FOH, Clint. The results are nothing short of spectacular. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Cake Shop
New York, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Clint) + AKG C480B/CK61 (stage lip) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, mixdown, normalize, fades) > Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [39:20]
01. I Fell Like a Fucking Flower
02. Flight Risk
03. Drink Up and Be Somebody
04. (Untitled)
05. Crybaby Blowout
06. The Narcotic Comforts of the Status Quo
07. (Untitled)
08. Detroit Trickle Down

Support Kinski: Website | Facebook | Bandcamp | Buy Kinski albums and merch via Kill Rock Stars

Marnie Stern: September 5, 2013 Lincoln Theatre, Raleigh, NC (Hopscotch Music Festival) – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

September 12, 2013

[Photos by acidjack]

Normally when somebody plays finger-tapping guitar high up the neck the way that Marnie Stern does, the way that’s defined her sound, their style comes with a surfeit of leather and outdated machismo. Marnie Stern records for Pacific Northwest stalwarts Kill Rock Stars, and she’s reclaimed that technique for modern fans who’re as far away from the spandex-and-leather set as you can get. But for the boys down front in ironic headbands, leading between-song chants, there was nothing to worry about. Marnie’s got a sense of humor to go with the chops and the cred. This year’s The Chronicles of Marnia represented the apex-to-date of her career, and Marnie seems poised to take full advantage.

This Lincoln Theatre show, on the kickoff night of the Hopscotch Music Festival, gave Marnie a big-enough stage to let her rip, without compromising the intimacy of her personality or her performance. She may have begun with a hilariously off-color joke about getting older, but Marnie’s sound is as youthful and energetic as it was on her first record, In Advance of the Broken Arm, six years ago.

Marnie wasn’t even the headliner (that went to Kurt Vile), but she brought out a packed house that howled loudly for the favorites and even started a mosh pit. Marnie exudes energy and charisma of a kind that doesn’t require a larger band to do it. After delivering some of Chronicles of Marnia’s strongest numbers, plus older songs, she and the band closed out the show with a long-form rendition of “The Crippled Jazzer”, at more than twice the length of the other songs. Bonus points to bassist Nithin Kalvakota for playing along gamely to the hooker jokes throughout the night!

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK4V cardiod microphones from the ideal location in the venue. While I felt the vocals were a tad high in the house mix at times, the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Year of the Glad”

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Marnie Stern
Hopscotch Music Festival
Lincoln Theatre
Raleigh, NC USA

Schoeps MK4V (FOB, DFC, PAS)>KC5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>24bit/48kHz WAV>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects, fades)>Audacity 2.03 (tracking, amplify, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Please let me know any setlist corrections.

01 The Chronicles of Marnia
02 [banter1]
03 Hell Yes
04 You Don’t Turn Down
05 [banter2]
06 Immortals
07 For Ash
08 Transformer
09 Nothing Is Easy
10 Risky Biz
11 Year of the Glad
12 The Crippled Jazzer

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Marnie Stern, visit her website, and buy her records from Kill Rock Stars.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.