Posts Tagged ‘ Sleeper ’

Ty Segall: June 26, 2015 Mercury Lounge – Flac/MP3/Streaming

July 1, 2015

ty 1
[photos courtesy of Will and We All Want Someone To Shout For]

We have seen Ty Segall in quite a few different settings, from a tiny DIY club, to two huge punk shows at Webster Hall, to a semi-acoustic night on the Sleeper tour at Bowery Ballroom. All of these various experiences have all added up to the same result — a powerful evening of superb music and a satisfied crowd. When it was announced that Ty would play a series of solo acoustic shows in NYC, we were confident that the nights would be yet another different but equally compelling experience of live Ty Segall. On Friday, he appeared at Mercury Lounge for an early show which would be followed later in the evening with a midnight show at Rough Trade. While the Merc show had fairly early doors, the sold-out show filled up the room quickly when it was still daylight out. This show’s setlist was very different from the one at Baby’s All Right on Wednesday (recording coming soon), and definitely veered towards the more mellow side of this catalog, with Sleeper well-represented. There were also three goofy covers (Devo, Spinal Tap and The Cars), the last of which we are streaming below. The newsworthy part of this set was the fact that Ty played a bunch of new songs on this mini-tour including four on this night. Our initial favorite of the new songs is called “California Hills”, and is a pointed indictment of California suburban life. Ty was joined mid-set by Wand’s Cory Hanson and the two meshed effortlessly, before Ty ended the show solo again. It was a short but sweet set and the performers had a good time themselves, as they messed around a bit with the covers, some cover teases, and one silly mock-up of Ty’s well-known song “Girlfriend” to rank on the guy in the crowd who wouldn’t stop screaming out requests for it. Ty has a few more shows scheduled this Summer out on the West coast, dates here.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps cardioids set up on a stand next to the soundboard booth and mixed with an excellent feed provided by house FOH David. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

We also recorded the Baby’s and Rough Trade shows and those are coming soon.

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “The Feels”:

Stream “My Best Friend’s Girl” (The Cars cover):

Ty Segall
Mercury Lounge
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard [engineer: David] + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 54:19]
01 [intro]
02 I Want Your Candy [new song]
03 You Make The Sun Fry
04 Crazy
05 The Faker
06 Baby Talkin Bitches [Devo]
07 [Cory intro]
08 Gimme Some Money [Spinal Tap]
09 [Spinal Tap teases]
10 Don’t You Want to Know
11 Orange Colored Lady [new song]
12 The Feels
13 Emotional Mugger [new song]
14 [Cory plays Girlfriend]
15 California Hills [new song]
16 [Cory exit]
17 The Keepers
18 My Best Friend’s Girl [The Cars]
19 [Candy-O tease]
20 Comfortable Home
21 Sleeper

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Ty Segall, visit his website, and purchase his official releases from the Drag City Records website [HERE].

Ty Segall: August 30, 2013 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

September 4, 2013

[photos by PSquared Photography]

Ty Segall has had an impressive and prolific recording career thus far. The 26 year-old performer has released 8 solo albums, has been a member of four bands with recorded output, has done duo records with Mikal Cronin and with White Fence, and earlier this year released an album with Fuzz. But what Ty has done with his latest album Sleeper (Drag City) may be his most accomplished feat thus far. The album is lyrically his most personal and the primarily acoustic instrumentation is a great departure from his lo-fi garage roots. But its not the style change that is so remarkable, its the fact that Segall not only pulls off the tidal shift with such ease but that the album is so strong. And the tour band continues the theme. At Friday night’s Bowery Ballroom show, Ty’s band was a seated-foursome with two acoustic guitars, bass and drums, a far cry from the rabid punk show we saw just this past February at Webster Hall. It was clear from the outset that this was a different performer playing material with a very different vibe. But Ty’s talents seated were just as impressive as when he is standing — it was the quality and intensity of the music that kept the crowd craziness at bay as Ty and the band worked though Sleeper nearly in its entirety. We are streaming the second song and second track on the album “The Keepers”, a song the band played to perfection. It was midway through the show when the new material was complete that the show switched gears, gained some volume and the pit went wild. The band worked through some older Ty tracks before ending the set proper. We’re also streaming “Ghost” from the set of older material as it features an intense and extended guitar jam. The highlight of the encore set was Ty’s solo performance of the Bowie classic “Moonage Daydream”. While we don’t expect that Ty Segall will ever turn away from his garage roots, its very encouraging to know that this multi-talented performer is just as comfortable as a singer-songwriter than as a punk impresario. This Bowery show was that good.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser cardioids mounted in our usual balcony spot. We’re extremely pleased with the results. Enjoy!

Stream “The Keepers”:

Stream “Ghost”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Ty Segall
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording

Sennheiser MKH-8040 Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2013-09-03

[Total Time 1:03:34]
01 Sleeper
02 The Keepers
03 Crazy
04 The Man Man
05 She Don’t Care
06 [band intros]
07 6th Street
08 Sweet C.C.
09 For Those Who Weep
10 The West
11 [banter – thanks]
12 Queen Lullabye
13 Die Die Die
14 [banter]
15 Caesar
16 You’re The Doctor
17 Ghost
18 Sad Fuzz
19 Girlfriend
20 [encore break]
21 Moonage Daydream [Bowie]
22 You Make the Sun Fry
23 Live and Let Live [Love]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Ty Segall, visit his website, and purchase his latest albumĀ Sleeper from Drag City Records [HERE].


Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.